Latest moves in the civil service & public affairs – April 18

New appointments in the civil service, UK politics, and public affairs, via our colleagues on Dods People

House of Lords

  • Lord Renton of Mount Harry (Conservative, life peer) retired 14 April.

Centre of government

  • New Cabinet Committees: EU Referendum Committee – chaired by the Prime Minister, David Cameron; National Security Council (Cyber) Sub-committee – Chaired by the Chancellor of the Exchequer, George Osborne; NSC (Syria and Iraq) Sub-committee – Chaired by Cameron; NSC (Strategic Defence and Security Review Implementation) Sub-committee – Chaired by Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster, Oliver Letwin; NSC (Counter Terrorism) Sub-committee – Chaired by Cameron.
  • ​Disbanded Cabinet Committee: Syrian Refugee Committee.
  • New Implementation Taskforce: Child Protection – Chaired by Secretary of State for Education Nicky Morgan.


  • Department of Health: National Institute for Health and Care Excellence Board – Elaine Inglesby-Burke joins as Non-Executive Director.
  • HM Treasury: Financial Conduct Authority – Sam Woods to replace Andrew Bailey as Chief Executive from July.
  • Department for Business, Innovation and Skills: UK Atomic Energy Authority – Chief Executive Steve Cowley is standing down later in the year.
  • Department for Transport: Civil Aviation Authority Board – David King and Graham Ward reappointed as members.
  • Department for Communities and Local Government: Homes and Communities Agency – Mark Hodgkinson appointed Interim Chief Executive.
  • Water Services Regulation Authority: Aileen Armstrong appointed as Senior Director, Finance and Governance, David Black as Senior Director, Water 2020 and John Russell as Senior Director, Strategy and Planning.

Industry, consultancies and trade associations

  • London City Airport – Andrew Scott appointed as PR Manager and Kimberley Hayden as Internal Communications Executive.
  • Antofagasta – Iván Arriagada replaced Diego Hernández as Chief Executive.
  • Westminster Advisers – Ryan Shorthouse appointed as Non-Executive Board Adviser.
  • British Air Transport Association – Tim Alderslade to replace Nathan Stower as Chief Executive from May.

Read the most recent articles written by Dods People - Latest civil service & public affairs moves – May 28

Share this page