MoD to launch integrated Defence Safety Authority

Defence safety regulators to merge into Defence Safety Authority from 1 April 2015

By Sarah.Aston

02 Mar 2015

The Ministry of Defence (MoD) is launching a single organisation to streamline its delivery of safety regulation on 1 April 2015.

The Military Aviation Authority (MAA), Defence Fire Safety Regulator (DFSR) and the Defence Safety and Environment Authority (DSEA) will be brought together to form the Defence Safety Authority (DSA).

According to the MoD, the DSA will enhance “operational capability through appropriate and proportionate regulation” and improve knowledge sharing “so that safety initiatives and regulatory activity can be more efficiently targeted”.

The DSA, which is expected to reach full operating capability by 1 April 2016, will be led by air marshall Richard Garwood who will start as director general on 1 April. As part of the role, Garwood will also line manage the Military Air Accident Investigation Branch (MilAAIB) and the Land Accident Investigation Team (LAIT).

Under changes, the MAA will be headed by the newly appointed director of MAA air vice marshall Paul Atherton but the MAA brand and logo will remain the same.

Share this page