Latest civil service & public affairs moves — March 6

Written by Dods People on 6 March 2017 in News

New appointments in the civil service, UK politics, and public affairs, via our colleagues at Dods People

Government departments

  • Cabinet Office: Mark Sedwil to replace Mark Lyall Grant as National Security Adviser on 13th April.
  • Home Office: Philip Rutnam to replace Mark Sedwill as Permanent Secretary.
  • Department for Transport: Philip Rutnam to stand down as Permanent Secretary. Jonathan Moor, director general for resources and strategy, stepping up in the interim, with a permanent successor to be recruited.
  • Foreign and Commonwealth Office: Kate Harrisson has been appointed Her Majesty's Ambassador to the Republic of Peru.
  • HM Treasury: Office of Tax Simplification - Paul Morton replaced John Whiting as Tax Director.
  • Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy: UK Space Agency - Graham Turnock to replace Katherine Courtney as Chief Executive from 1st April; Nuclear Decommissioning Authority - David Peattie appointed as Chief Executive, replacing John Clarke.
  • Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs: Environment Agency - Joanne Segars appointed to the board.
  • Department for Culture, Media and Sport: Theatres Trust - Ruth Eastwood, Dara Ó Briain, Peter Roberts, Ann Skippers and Anna Stapleton have been reappointed as Trustees.

House of Lords

  • Lord McCluskey (Life Peer, Crossbench) retired on 1st March.

House of Commons

  • Gerald Kaufman, Labour MP for Manchester Gorton, passed away – a by-election will take place in due course.
  • Procedure Committee – Chris Elmore replaced Holly Lynch as a member.
  • Women and Equalities Committee – Holly Lynch replaced Ruth Cadbury as a member.

Parliamentary Organisations

  • National Audit Office – Daniel Lambauer appointed as Executive Leader, Strategy and Operation; Kate Mathers as Executive Leader, Financial Audit; Rebecca Sheeran as Executive Leader, Value for Money; Max Tse as Executive Leader, Digital Transformation.

Local authority by-election Results 2nd March

  • Christchurch Council – Paul Hilliard elected for Mudeford and Friars Cliffe – Conservative hold.
  • Salford Council – Arnie Saunders elected for Kersal – Conservative gain from Labour.
  • Redcar and Cleveland Council – Alma Thrower elected for Hutton – Conservative hold.
  • Redcar and Cleveland Council – Laura Benson elected for Newcomen – Liberal Democrat hold.

Industry, Consultancies & Interest Groups

  • JBP – James Hargrave promoted to Associate Director; Laura Holloway joins as Senior Account Manager; Mark Hofman joins as a Local Government and Stakeholder Engagement Expert; Hannah Rowley appointed as Account Manager.
  • Patients Association - Katherine Murphy is to step down as Chief Executive.
Author Display Name
Dods People
About the author

Want to know more? Click here for information on our Dods People UK service

Share this page
Editor's Pick
Promote as primary content
Not Promoted

Share this page

Further reading in our policy hubs


Please login to post a comment or register for a free account.

Contact the author

The contact details for the Civil Service World editorial team are available on our About Us page.

Related Articles

Related Sponsored Articles