Latest civil service & public affairs moves — March 29

New appointments in the civil service, UK politics, and public affairs, via our colleagues at Dods People

By Civil Service World

29 Mar 2021

Government departments

  • Ministry of Defence – David Williams appointed as permanent secretary, replacing Stephen Lovegrove on 6th April.
  • Department for Health and Social Care – Shona Dunn appointed as second permanent secretary, replacing David Williams on 6th April. Nicola Byrne appointed as national data guardian for health and social care. UK Health Security Agency – Jenny Harries to become chief executive of the new body when it starts officially in April, replacing Dido Harding who was in the role on an interim basis as it was developed.
  • HM Treasury: Prudential Regulation Committee – Julia Black and Jill May have been reappointed as external members.
  • Office for Budget Responsibility – Bronwyn Curtis reappointed as a non-executive member.
  • Ministry of Justice: Law Commission – Nicholas Green’s role as chair extended for a year from 1st August. Children and Family Court Advisory and Support Services for England – Sally Cheshire appointed as Chair, having been in the role on an interim basis. Paul Grant, Catherine Doran and Mandy Jones reappointed as board members. Legal Services Board – Gary Kildare appointed as a lay member.
  • Competition and Markets Authority – Rachel Merelie has been appointed to the newly-created role of senior director for the Office for the Internal Market.
  • Home Office: Advisory Council on the Misuse of Drugs – Kostas Agath, Emily Finch, Tim Millar and Rob Phipps reappointed as board members. Biometrics and Forensics Ethics Group – Louise Amoore, Liz Campbell, Simon Caney, Mark Jobling, Edward Sorrell, Denise Syndercombe-Court and Peter Waggett reappointed as members.
  • Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs: Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew – Christopher Gilligan, Paul Nurse, David Richardson, Judith Batchelar and Ian Graham appointed as trustees.

Houses of Parliament

House of Lords

  • Lord Greaves (Liberal Democrat, life peer) died on 23rd March.
  • Lord Christopher (Labour, life peer) granted leave of absence on 22nd March.
  • Baroness Howarth (Crossbench, life peer) granted leave of absence on 25th March.
  • Baroness Blake of Leeds (Labour, life peer) was introduced on 25th March.
  • Lord Coaker (Labour, life peer) was introduced on 23rd March.

House of Commons

  • Neil Gray stood down as MP for Airdrie and Shotts, a by-election will take place in due course

Devolved authorities

Welsh Government

  • Arts Council of Wales – Ruth Fabby, Ceri Ll Davies, Keith Murrell, Elen ap Robert, Prue Thimbleby and Tafsila Khan named as board members.

Northern Ireland Government

  • Education Authority – Ronnie Hassard replaced Gerry Loughran as a board member.

Local authorities

  • Torfaen Council – Stephen Vickers to become chief executive on 5th July, replacing Alison Ward who retires at the end of March.


If you and your organisation would like to be included in this section, then email us at

Interest groups

  • Citizens Advice – Clare Moriarty to become chief executive on 26th April, replacing Alastair Cromwell who had been in the role on an interim basis.
  • The Seafarers’ Charity – Nusrat Ghani MP and Iain Lower appointed as trustees.

Trade associations

  • Chartered Institute of Fundraising – Peter Lewis resigned as chief executive.

Read the most recent articles written by Civil Service World - 'What keeps you awake at night?': A guide to the government risk management profession


Share this page