Latest civil service and public affairs moves – December 4

New appointments in the civil service, UK politics, and public affairs, via Dods People

UK Government

  • Department for Business and Trade: Office for the Internal Market Panel – Angharad Butler, Stephen Gifford, Shane Lynch, Micheal Neilson, Professor Suzanne Rab, Dr Timothy Render and Professor Andreas Stephan appointed as members.
  • Department for Culture, Media and Sport – Professor Tom Crick appointed as chief scientific adviser, succeeding Professor Tom Rodden. National Gallery – Catherine Goodman and Stuart Roden re-appointed as trustees for four years. Natural History Museum – David Craig and Tony Hall appointed as trustees of the Board for four years. Royal Museums Greenwich – Alastair Marsh re-appointed as trustee for four years.
  • Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office – Philip Hall appointed as His Majesty’s ambassador to the Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan, succeeding Bridget Brind.

Non-ministerial Departments

  • Competition and Markets Authority – Joel Bamford appointed as executive director, Mergers from early 2023.
  • Ofwat – Jonathan Kini re-appointed as board member from 1 December until 30 November 2027.

Government reshuffle

Further details of the reshuffle can be found here:

Houses of Parliament

House of Commons

  • Northern Ireland Affairs Committee – Robert Buckland elected as chair on 28 November.
  • Backbench Business Committee – Bob Blackman, Kevin Foster, Patricia Gibson, Chris Green, Nigel Mills, Wendy Morton and Kate Osborne re-appointed as members.
  • Foreign Affairs Committee – Dan Carden and Fabian Hamilton added; Chris Bryant and Liam Byrne discharged.
  • Home Affairs Committee – Kim Johnson added; Paula Barker discharged.
  • Liaison Committee – Robert Buckland added.
  • Panel of chairs – Esther McVey discharged.
  • Women and Equalities Committee – Lisa Cameron be added; Mark Jenkinson discharged.

House of Lords

  • Baroness Carr of Walton-on-the-Hill was introduced in the Lords on 30 November. As lady chief justice of England and Wales she is currently disqualified from the House of Lords.



  • Nickie Aiken re-appointed as deputy chairman of the party board.
  • Lee Anderson re-appointed as deputy chairman (campaigning).
  • Luke Hall re-appointed as deputy chairman (campaigning and candidates).
  • Jack Lopresti re-appointed as deputy chairman (campaigning, veterans and PCCs).
  • Matt Vickers re-appointed as deputy chairman (campaigning).
  • Mo Ali re-appointed as vice-chairman (campaigning and communities).
  • Julie Marson re-appointed as vice-chairman (candidates committee).
  • Sara Britcliffe appointed as deputy chairman (campaigning and candidates).
  • Brendan Clarke-Smith appointed as deputy chairman (campaigning).
  • Rachel Maclean appointed as deputy chairman (campaigning and women).
  • Ben Spencer appointed as deputy chairman (campaigning, candidates, disability and diversity).
  • Craig Tracey appointed as deputy chairman (campaigning and local government).
  • Shaun Bailey appointed as PPS to Richard Holden as minister without portfolio and Conservative Party chairman.


  • Feryal Clark appointed as shadow minister for crime reduction, was shadow minister for health.
  • Ashley Dalton appointed as shadow minister for women and equalities.
  • Alex Davies-Jones appointed as shadow minister for domestic violence and safeguarding, was shadow minister for tech and digital economy.
  • Tanmanjeet Singh Dhesi appointed as shadow minister for exports, was shadow exchequer Secretary.
  • Chris Evans appointed as shadow minister for tech and digital economy.
  • Lord Livermore appointed as shadow exchequer secretary to the Treasury.
  • Steve McCabe appointed as shadow minister for veterans.
  • Jim McMahon appointed as shadow minister for English devolution and local government.
  • Michael Shanks  appointed as shadow minister for Scotland.
  • Baroness Sherlock appointed as shadow minister for faith.
  • Jeff Smith appointed as senior legislation whip.
  • Karl Turner appointed as shadow solicitor general.
  • Liz Twist appointed as shadow minister for local services and communities.

Devolved Administrations

Northern Ireland Executive

  • Northern Ireland Screen – Tom Gray re-appointed as board member from 1 December.

Local Authorities

  • East Dunbartonshire – Ann Davie appointed as chief executive from January 2024.
  • Southend on Sea City Council – Colin Ansell appointed as chief executive.



  • Dods Group – Hannah Berry left as head of reference data on 30 November; Josh Martin appointed as reference data manager from 1 December.
  • SMBC – Hannah Berry appointed as Data Analyst Developer from 4 December.

Interest Groups

  • Black Equity Organisation – Wanda Wyporska has stood down as chief executive; Timi Okuwa appointed as chief executive.
  • Breast Cancer Now – Baroness Morgan of Drefelin to stand down as chief executive.
  • Duke of Edinburgh’s International Award Foundation – Martin Houghton-Brown appointed as secretary-general.
  • Electoral Commission – Shaun McNally stood down as chief executive on 30 November; Rob Vincent appointed as interim chief executive from 1 December.
  • Sue Ryder – Heidi Travis to stand down as chief executive in spring 2024.

Need to contact civil servants and politicians? Find out more about Dods Political Intelligence

Read the most recent articles written by Dods People - Latest civil service & public affairs moves – February 26


Share this page