Latest civil service & public affairs moves – 25 September

New appointments in the civil service, UK politics, and public affairs, via Dods People

UK Government

  • Department for Business and Trade Board of Trade – Andy Bird, Anya Hindmarch, Ash Amirahmadi, David Meller, Karen Betts, Libby Hart, Lord Hannan of Kingsclere, Paul Golding, Peter O’Kane, Nicholas Lyons, Tony Abbott, Ruth Chapman, Sarah Kenny, Sir Lucian Grainge, Tufan Erginbilgiç and Vivienne Stern appointed as advisers. Martin Kent appointed as His Majesty’s Trade Commissioner for Asia Pacific, succeeding Natalie Black. Lewis Neal appointed as His Majesty’s Trade Commissioner for China and Hong Kong.
  • Cabinet Office Government Property Agency – Lisa Commane appointed as chief operating officer from the end of October.
  • Department for Culture, Media and Sport Royal Armouries – John Procter re-appointed as chair for four years from 2 November.
  • Ministry of Defence Lieutenant Colonel Héloïse Goodley appointed to support the UN’s Office of the Special Representative to the Secretary General on Sexual Violence in Conflict in its mission to eradicate sexual violence in conflict.
  • Department for Education Workload Reduction Taskforce – Emma Balchin, James Bowen, Cassie Buchanan, Jon Hutchinson, Emma Knights, Selena Lansley, Stuart Lock, Sinéad Mc Brearty, Darren Northcott, Adrian Prandle, Steve Rollett, Janet Sheriff, Dr Sam Sims, Sara Tanton and Kate Treacy appointed as members. They will meet regularly from September until March 2024.
  • Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office – Lisa Bandari appointed as His Majesty’s Ambassador to the Portuguese Republic from January 2024, succeeding Chris Sainty.
  • Department for Levelling Up, Housing and Communities – Dehenna Davison MP resigned as parliamentary under-secretary of state for levelling up on 18 September; Jacob Young MP appointed as parliamentary-under secretary of state to replace her; Gagan Mohindra MP appointed as an assistant government whip to replace Jacob Young. Professor Hilary Pilkington, Dr Shaaz Mahboob and Dr Samir Shah appointed as expert panellists to sit on the independent review into civil unrest in Leicester in 2022.
  • Crown Prosecution Service – Stephen Parkinson appointed as director of public prosecutions and CPS head for five years from 1 November.
  • Northern Ireland Office – Peter Sheridan appointed as commissioner for investigations designate.  Sheridan's formal appointment will only take place following the Northern Ireland Troubles (Legacy and Reconciliation) Bill receiving Royal Assent and establishment of the ICRIR.
  • Department for Science, Innovation and Technology – Dr Dave Smith appointed as national technology adviser.
  • HM Treasury Bank of England – Jonathan Bewes appointed as non-executive director of the Court and chair of the Court’s Audit and Risk Committee for four years from the autumn.

Houses of Parliament

House of Commons

  • Defence Committee Nominations are now open for chair following the resignation of Tobias Ellwood. The nominations period will run until 24 October. To date, Sarah Atherton is the only nomination.
  • Scottish Affairs Committee – Alan Brown and Anum Qaisar added; Deidre Brock and Philippa Whitford discharged.

House of Lords

  • Lord De Clifford and Lord Meston elected as crossbench hereditary peers on 20 September. The Bishop of Newcastle joined the House of Lords on 21 September.
  • House of Lords Commission – Charlotte Moar appointed as external member, succeeding Mathew Duncan.
  • All-party groups added to 20 September Register: Blockchain Technologies; Fair Value in the Food Supply Chain; Religious Education; and Supported Internships and Disability Employment.

Devolved Administrations

  • Scottish Parliament Social Justice and Social Security Committee – Bob Doris appointed as deputy convener. Committee of the Regions UK Contact Group – Kate Forbes appointed as member. Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe – Keith Brown appointed as member.
  • Northern Ireland Assembly Cheryl Brownlee (DUP) co-opted as MLA for East Antrim on 15 September.
  • Northern Ireland Executive Belfast Metropolitan College – Michele Corkey appointed as temporary chair of the governing body from 26 October. Londonderry Port and Harbour Commissioners – Alan Bissett, Frank Hewitt, Catriona McHugh and Nigel Robbins re-appointed as board members for four years from 1 October.


Interest Groups

  • British Mountaineering Council – Paul Davies resigned as chief executive.

  • Christians Against Poverty – Stewart McCulloch appointed as chief executive from January 2024.

  • London Youth – Pauline Daniyan appointed as chief executive from 18 September.

  • World Vision UK – Fola Komolafe appointed as chief executive from October.

Read the most recent articles written by Dods People - Latest civil service & public affairs moves – May 20


HR Leadership
Share this page