Latest civil service & public affairs moves – January 20

New appointments in the civil service, UK politics, and public affairs, via our colleagues at Dods People

By Dods People

23 Jan 2023

UK government

  • Prime Minister's Office – The Reverend Canon Andrew Zihni appointed as Dean of Gloucester, succeeding The Right Reverend Stephen Lake following his appointment as Bishop of Salisbury. 
  • Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office – Alyson King OBE appointed as His Majesty’s ambassador to the Democratic Republic of the Congo from April, succeeding Emily Maltman who will be transferring to another diplomatic service appointment. 
  • Government Equalities Office: Equality and Human Rights Commission – Joanne Cash appointed as commissioner. 
  • Department of Health and Social Care: Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency – Professor Tom Clutton-Brock MBE appointed as chair of the Interim Devices Working Group. British Pharmacopoeia Commission – Professor Monique Simmonds and Robert Lowe’s term as members extended for 12 months until 31 December. 
  • Home Office – Lord Anderson of Ipswich KBE KC appointed to carry out an independent review of the Investigatory Powers Act 2016. 
  • Ministry of Justice – Adrian Usher announced as the preferred candidate to be prisons and probation ombudsman. The role is subject to a pre-appointment hearing by the Justice Select Committee. 
  • Department for Levelling Up, Housing and Communities – Professor Richard Prager appointed as chief scientific adviser, succeeding Professor Alan Penn. 
  • Department for Work and Pensions: Industrial Injuries Advisory Council – Dr Richard Heron and Dr Sharon Stevelink appointed as independent medical/scientific members; Dr Sally Hemming and Stephen Mitchell appointed as employee representatives. 

Houses of Parliament

House of Commons 

  • West Lancashire by-election – read the Statement of Persons Nominated 
  • European Statutory Instruments Committee – Peter Grant added; Richard Thomson discharged. 
  • High Speed Rail (Crewe – Manchester) Bill Committee – Andrew Percy appointed as chair. 
  • Procedure Committee – Tonia Antoniazzi added; Bambos Charalambous discharged. 
  • Selection Committee – Peter Grant added; Richard Thomson discharged. 
  • Statutory Instruments Committee – Peter Grant added; Richard Thomson discharged. 
  • Treasury Committee – Douglas Chapman added; Alison Thewliss discharged. 
  • Speaker's Committee for the Independent Parliamentary Standards Authority – Heather Wheeler added. 

House of Lords 

  • The Bishop of Sheffield (non-affiliated) joined the House of Lords on 17 January. 
  • Lord Soley (Labour, life peer) retired from the House of Lords on 19 January. 
  • Baroness Howarth of Breckland’s (crossbench, life peer) leave of absence ended on 19 January. 

Political parties

Scottish National Party 

  • Brendan O'Hara MP replaced Martin Docherty-Hughes MP as chief whip of the Westminster Group. 

Devolved administrations

Scottish Parliament 

  • Citizen Participation and Public Petitions Committee – Carol Mochan added; Paul Sweeney discharged. 
  • Delegated Powers and Law Reform Committee – Carol Mochan added; Paul Sweeney discharged. 
  • Health, Social Care and Sport Committee – Paul Sweeney added; Carol Mochan discharged. 

Scottish Government 

  • Ellis Watson appointed as chief business adviser to the first minister. 

Northern Ireland Executive 

  • Libraries NI – Professor Bernard Cullen’s term as chair extended from 1 May until 31 October; Deirdre Kenny, Harry Reid and Dr Margaret Ward’s term as members extended until 30 June. 
  • Northern Ireland Social Care Council – Catherine McPhillips’ term as non-executive registrant member extended until 2 February; Anne O'Reilly's term as non-executive stakeholder member extended until 28 February. 

Local authorities

Interested in an updated contact list of local government leaders? Get in contact with your Dods account manager or customer services for more details. 

  • Bradford Council – Kersten England to retire as chief executive in June. 
  • Brent Council – Kim Wright appointed as chief executive, subject to ratification by the council on 23 January. She will replace Carolyn Downs who announced her decision to retire in April 2022. 
  • Scottish Borders Council – David Robertson appointed as chief executive. He has been acting chief executive since July 2022. 


If you and your organisation would like to be included in this section, then email us at  

Interest groups 

  • Black Equity Organisation – Dr Wanda Wyporska appointed as chief executive from February. She will leave her role as chief executive of the Society of Genealogists. 
  • Blood Cancer UK – Helen Rowntree appointed as chief executive. She has been interim chief executive since November 2022. 
  • British Paralympic Association – Dave Clarke appointed as chief executive, succeeding Mike Sharrock who will step down at the end of February. 
  • Langdon – Neil Taylor to step down as chief executive at the end of March. 
  • Ulster Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals – Nora Smith appointed as chief executive. 

Trade Unions 

  • The Chartered Society of Physiotherapy – Karen Middleton CBE to retire as chief executive at the end of 2023. 

Read the most recent articles written by Dods People - Latest civil service & public affairs moves – January 30


Share this page