Latest civil service & public affairs moves — July 3

New appointments in the civil service, UK politics, and public affairs, via our colleagues at Dods People


By Dods People

03 Jul 2017

Houses of Parliament

  • House of Lords: Lord Feldman (Conservative life peer) retired on 30 June; Political Polling and Digital Media Committee – Lord Lipsey named as chair; Baroness Couttie, Baroness Fall, Baroness Ford, Lord Foulkes of Cumnock, Lord Hayward, Lord Howarth of Newport, Baroness Janke, Baroness Jay of Paddington, Baroness O'Neill of Bengarve, Lord Rennard and Lord Smith of Hindhead appointed as members;  Natural Environment and Rural Communities Act 2006 Committee – Lord Cameron of Dillington named as Chair; The Earl of Arran, Baroness Byford, The Earl of Caithness, Lord Faulkner of Worcester, Lord Foster of Bishop Auckland, Lord Harrison, The Countess of Mar, Baroness Parminter, Baroness Scott of Bybrook, Baroness Scott of Needham Market and Baroness Whitaker appointed as members; Artificial Intelligence Committee – Lord Clement-Jones named as Chair; Baroness Bakewell, Lord Giddens, Baroness Grender, Lord Hollick, Lord Holmes of Richmond, Lord Levene of Portsoken, The Lord Bishop of Oxford, Lord Puttnam, Viscount Ridley, Baroness Rock, Lord St John of Bletso and Lord Swinfen appointed as members; Citizenship and Civic Engagement Committee – Lord Hodgson of Astley Abbotts named as Chair; Baroness Barker, Lord Blunkett, Lord Harries of Pentregarth, Baroness Lister of Burtersett, Baroness Morris of Yardley, Baroness Newlove, Baroness Pitkeathley, Baroness Redfern, Lord Rowe-Beddoe, Baroness Stedman-Scott and Lord Verjee appointed as members.


Government departments

  • New parliamentary private secretaries PPS to: prime minister Theresa May –  George Hollingbery and Seema Kennedy; Chancellor of the exchequer Philip Hammond – Kwasi Kwarteng; Treasury ministerial team – Suella Fernandes and Chris Philp;  Home secretary Amber Rudd – Robert Jenrick; Home Office minister Brandon Lewis – James Cleverly; Home Office ministerial team –  Nus Ghani and Simon Hoare; Foreign secretary Boris Johnson – Conor Burns; Foreign Office ministerial team – Amanda Milling; Defence secretary Michael Fallon – Oliver Dowden; Ministry of Defence ministerial team – Anne-Marie Trevelyan; Justice secretary David Lidington – Lucy Frazer; Ministry of Justice ministerial team – Alan Mak; Education secretary Justine Greening – Helen Whatley; Department for Education ministerial team – Luke Hall; Exiting the European Union secretary David Davis – Gareth Johnson; Department for Exiting the European Union ministerial team – Jeremy Quin; International trade secretary Liam Fox – Tom Pursglove;  Department for International Trade ministerial team – Mike Wood; Business, energy and industrial strategy secretary Greg Clark – Kelly Tolhurst; Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy ministerial team – Rishi Sunak;  Health secretary Jeremy Hunt – Jo Churchill; Department of Health ministerial team –  James Cartlidge; Work and pensions secretary David Gauke – Peter Heaton-Jones; Department for Work and Pensions ministerial team – Huw Merriman; Transport secretary Chris Grayling – James Heappey; Department for Transport ministerial team – Scott Mann; Communities and local government secretary Sajid Javid – Mims Davies; Department for Communities and Local Government ministerial team - Kevin Foster; Leader of the House of Commons Andrea Leadsom – Victoria Prentis; Leader of the House of Lords Baroness Evans of Bowes Park – Victoria Atkins; Scotland secretary David Mundell – Alberto Costal; Wales secretary Alun Cairns – Glyn Davies;  Northern Ireland secretary James Brokenshire – David Morris; Environment, food and Rural affairs secretary Michael Gove – Kevin Hollinrake;  Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs ministerial team – Rebecca Pow; International development secretary Priti Patel – Wendy Morton; Department for International Development ministerial team – Michael Tomlinson; Culture, media and sport secretary Karen Bradley – Matt Warman; Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport ministerial team – Nigel Huddleston; First secretary of state and minister for the Cabinet Office Damian Green – James Morris; Cabinet Office ministerial team – Will Quince; Attorney general Jeremy Wright – Michelle Donelan; Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster, and Conservative Party chairman Patrick McLoughlin – Edward Argar.
  • Department for Transport: Highways England – Peter Adams to leave as executive director in August.
  • Foreign and Commonwealth Office: Andrew Soper has been appointed Her Majesty's Ambassador to the Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela in succession to John Saville; Anwar Choudhury has been appointed governor of the Cayman Islands.
  • Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs: Marine Management Organisation – Selina Stead appointed as chief scientific adviser.


  • Labour Party:  Daniel Zeichner resigned as shadow minister for transport;  Lyn Brown resigned as shadow Home Office minister; Gareth Thomas resigned as shadow minister for communities and local government; Rupa Huq resigned as shadow Home Office minister;  Catherine West was removed from her role as shadow minister, Foreign and Commonwealth Office; Ruth Cadbury was removed from her role as shadow minister for housing; Andy Slaughter was removed from his role as shadow minister for housing and shadow minister for London.

Local Authorities

  • Kensington and Chelsea Council – Lewisham Council’s Chief Executive Barry Quirk is taking up the role of chief executive on a temporary basis; By-election results 29 June: Durham Council – Leanne Kennedy elected for Dowdon – Labour hold; Eastleigh Borough Council – Clifford Morris elected for Hedge End Grange Park - Liberal Democrat hold; Waltham Forest Council – Umar Ali elected for William Morris – Labour hold;  West Lancashire - Ian Davis elected for Derby - Our West Lancashire gain from Conservative.

Interest Groups

  • Citizens Advice Scotland – Derek Mitchell named as the chief executive; Transaid - Caroline Barber is promoted to chief executive, starting 1st August; Meningitis Now – Tom Nutt appointed as chief executive; Myeloma UK – Rosemarie Finley appointed as chief executive; Migrant Help UK – Andrew Billany named as chief executive; Chance UK – Geethika Jayatilaka appointed as chief executive from Septemberl Patients Association – Rachel Power named as the new chief executive.


  • Stonehaven – Ben Thornton to join later in the year; Portland - Sam Ingleby promoted to become head of UK public affairs and corporate communications.


Read the most recent articles written by Dods People - Latest civil service & public affairs moves – March 13


HR Leadership
Share this page