Latest civil service & public affairs moves – May 20

New appointments in the civil service, UK politics, and public affairs, via Dods People

UK Government

  • Prime Minister's Office – The Venerable Dr Edward Dowler appointed as dean of Chichester, succeeding The Very Reverend Stephen Waine following his resignation. The Venerable Patricia Hillas appointed as Bishop of Sodor and Man, succeeding The Right Reverend Peter Eagles following his retirement, she is currently chaplain to the speaker of the House of Commons and archdeacon of Westminster.
  • Department for Business and Trade: Technical Advisory Committee – Sally Duckworth appointed as chair; Scott Barlow, Jenny Carter, Harriet Cullum, Dia Desai, Hilary Eastman, Madeleine Evans, David Harris, Peter Hogarth, Paul Lee, Craig Mackenzie, Joseph Noss, Jeremy Osborn, Nick Rowbottom and Supriya Sobti appointed as members.
  • Ministry of Defence – General Dame Sharon Nesmith be appointed as vice chief of the defence staff and aide-de-camp to His Majesty in the rank of general in June, succeeding General Gwyn Jenkins ADC Royal Marines. Royal Hospital Chelsea – professor Charles Mackworth-Young re-appointed as specially appointed commissioner to the board of commissioners for three years from 1 October until 30 September 2027.
  • Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs: Defra Board – Julian Glover and Baroness Rock appointed as non-executive board members for three years from 13 May; Nick Folland appointed as non-executive board member for three years from 1 June. Animal and Plant Health Agency – Dr Jenny Stewart appointed as interim chief executive from 1 July 2024. Science Advisory Council – professor Lisa Collins, professor Nicholas Hanley, professor Susan Owens and professor Richard Bardgett appointed as members for three years from 6 July until 5 July 2027.
  • Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office – Marianne Young appointed as British high commissioner to the United Republic of Tanzania from August, succeeding David Concar who will be transferring to another Diplomatic Service appointment.
  • Department of Health and Social Care: NHS Litigation Authority (NHS Resolution) – Nigel Trout’s term as non-executive director extended from 1 July until 30 September 2024.
  • Home Office: Gangmasters and Labour Abuse Authority – Mike Sheldon and Tony Lochery appointed as board members for three years.
  • Ministry of Justice: Gov Facilities Services Limited – Colin Allars’ tenure as chair extended until 31 March 2026.

Devolved Administrations

Scottish Parliament

  • Rural Affairs and Islands Committee – Emma Roddick added; Kate Forbes discharged.
  • Scottish Commission for Human Rights – professor Angela O’Hagan nominated as chair.
  • Scottish Commission for Public Audit – Jamie Greene appointed as member.

Welsh Parliament

  • Health and Social Care Committee – John Griffiths added; Sarah Murphy discharged.
  • Local Government and Housing Committee – Sarah Murphy added; Jack Sargeant discharged.
  • Petitions Committee – Rhianon Passmore added; John Griffiths discharged.

Welsh Government

  • Hannah Blythyn sacked as minister for social partnership on 16 May.
  • Welsh Revenue Authority Board – Dyfed Edwards stood down as deputy chair; Jocelyn Davies appointed as deputy chair.

Northern Ireland Assembly

  • Justice Committee – Deirdre Hargey resigned as deputy chair.

Northern Ireland executive

  • Historic Buildings Council – Peter Tracey re-appointed as chair until 30 November; Siobhan Brown, Margaret Edwards, Dr Connie Gerrow, Dr Rosaleen Hickey, Sabine Kalke, Graeme Moore and Conor Sandford re-appointed as members until 30 June 2026; Sebastian Graham re-appointed as member until 31 August 2026.
  • Northern Ireland Museums Council – Nora Douds re-appointed as the chair of the board until 29 February 2027; Nuala Toman re-appointed as director to the board until 29 February 2027.

London Assembly

  • Andrew Boff re-elected as chair.
  • Len Duvall elected as deputy chair.

Local Authorities

  • Elmbridge Borough Council – Mike Rollings appointed as council leader.
  • Epson and Ewell Borough Council – Steve Bridger appointed as mayor.
  • Hackney London Borough Council – Dawn Carter-McDonald appointed as permanent chief executive, subject to approval by Full Council on21 May.
  • Hampshire County Council –Rob Humby to stand down as council leader on 25 May.
  • North Tyneside Borough Council – Norma Redfern to stand down as mayor in 2025.
  • Nottingham City Council – Mel Barrett to stand down as chief executive.
  • Pembrokeshire County Council – Jon Harvey appointed as council leader.


Interest Groups

  • National Rheumatoid Arthritis Society – Peter Foxton appointed as chief executive from 29 July.
  • St John Ambulance – Shona Dunn appointed as chief executive from September, she is currently second permanent secretary at the Department of Health and Social Care.
  • World Animal Protection – Tricia Croasdell appointed as chief executive from 1 July.

Trade Associations

  • techUK – Lord Ranger of Northwood appointed as chair of the UK-India Tech Forum.

Discover Dods People: Your ultimate stakeholder management solution. Dods People is a comprehensive online service that provides unparalleled access to political representatives and public affairs professionals across the UK and EU. Book your demo now to explore the power of Dods People

Read the most recent articles written by Dods People - Latest civil service & public affairs moves – May 28


Share this page