Latest civil service & public affairs moves – November 15

New appointments in the civil service, UK politics, and public affairs, via our colleagues at Dods People

By Dods People

15 Nov 2021

Government departments

  • Prime Minister’s Office – The Reverend Malayil Lukose Varghese (known as Saju) Muthalaly’s nomination to the Suffragan See of Loughborough approved, succeeding The Right Reverend Dr Gulnar Francis-Dehqani following her translation to the See of Chelmsford.
  • Government Communication Service – Lisa Hunter appointed as deputy chief executive, taking charge of continuing improvements to cross-government media, social media and crisis communications capability; Gemmaine Walsh appointed as chief operating officer, overseeing the GCS strategy for the next three years.
  • Northern Ireland Office – Lord Caine appointed as a parliamentary under-secretary of state, and replaces Viscount Younger of Leckie as government spokesperson for Northern Ireland in the Lords.

Houses of Parliament

House of Commons

  • A by-election will take place in the North Shropshire constituency on Thursday 16 December.

House of Lords

  • Lord Coe (Conservative, life peer) granted a leave of absence on 8 November.
  • Finance Committee – Lord Kennedy of Southwark added; Lord Collins of Highbury discharged.
  • United Kingdom delegation to the NATO Parliamentary Assembly – Lord Lancaster of Kimbolton added; Lord Jopling discharged.

Political parties

Welsh Labour

  • Louise Magee to stand down as general secretary.

Devolved administrations

Scottish Government

  • Highlands and Islands Enterprise – Stuart Black appointed as chief executive from January 2022.

Police and crime commissioners

  • North Yorkshire – Jenni Newberry appointed as acting police, fire and crime commissioner.

Combined authorities

  • West Midlands Combined Authority – Laura Shoaf appointed as chief executive on a permanent capacity having been interim chief executive since June.

Local authorities

  • Birmingham City Council – Paul Kitson appointed as strategic director of place, prosperity and Sustainability, previously interim executive director of markets, partners and places at Homes England.
  • Blaby District Council – Julia Smith appointed as chief executive.
  • Haringey Council – Zina Etheridge to stand down as chief executive, to take a job with North East London Integrated Care System in early 2022.
  • Maldon District Council – Wendy Stamp (independent) has stood down as council leader; Stephen Nunn (Independent) has stood down as deputy leader. Richard Siddall (independent) appointed council leader designate.
  • Peterborough City Council – Matt Gladstone appointed chief executive from the end of January 2022.
  • Worthing Borough Council – Kevin Jenkins (Conservative) elected as council leader.


If you and your organisation would like to be included in this section, then email us at

Interest Groups

  • Co-op Foundation – Louise Snelders appointed as head of funding and partnerships.
  • Great Ormond Street Hospital Children’s Charity – David Germain appointed as trustee.
  • Heart of England Community Foundation – Chris West appointed as chair, succeeding Phil Ewing.

Trade Associations

  • Association of British Insurers (ABI) – Baroness Morgan of Cotes appointed as first independent chair, taking over from Jon Dye who is stepping down; Hannah Gurga appointed as director general from early 2022, replacing Huw Evans who is stepping down from the role in December to join KPMG as a partner; Baroness Hayter of Kentish Town appointed as independent non-executive director and senior independent director on the ABI Board.
  • Association of Directors of Public Health – Jim McManus elected as president.
  • British Safety Council – Peter McGettrick appointed as chair.
  • Law Society of Scotland – Diane McGiffen appointed as chief executive from January 2022, succeeding Lorna Jack.

Read the most recent articles written by Dods People - Latest civil service & public affairs moves – November 28


Share this page