Latest civil service & public affairs moves – October 17

New appointments in the civil service, UK politics, and public affairs, via our colleagues at Dods People

By Dods People

17 Oct 2022

Government reshuffle

Details of the reshuffle can be found here.

UK government

  • Prime Minister's Office – The nomination of The Very Reverend Dr David Monteith for election as Dean of Canterbury approved, succeeding The Very Reverend Dr Robert Willis following his retirement. The nomination of The Reverend Canon Stephen Race to the Suffragan See of Beverley approved, succeeding The Right Reverend Glyn Webster following his retirement. 
  • Cabinet Office: National Science and Technology Council – Chancellor of the exchequer appointed as chair; chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster, minister for intergovernmental relations and minister for equalities appointed as deputy chair. 
  • Department for Education: Student Loans Company – Chris Larmer appointed as chief executive, succeeding Paula Sussex who will stand down at the end of the year. 
  • Department of Health and Social Care – Steve Oldfield is to stand down as chief commercial officer and director general, life sciences and leave the civil service later this month. 
  • Health and Safety Executive – Professor Cath Noakes appointed as chair of the Science Quality Assurance Group (SQAG). 
  • Home Office – Simon Murray appointed as a minister of state on 7 October. He will also receive a life peerage. 
  • Department for International Trade – Conor Burns MP sacked as minister of state for trade policy on 7 October; Greg Hands MP appointed to replace him. 
  • HM Treasury – Kwasi Kwarteng MP stood aside as chancellor of the exchequer on 14 October. He was replaced by Jeremy Hunt. James Bowler appointed as permanent secretary to the Treasury, he is currently permanent secretary for the Department for International Trade; Cat Little and Beth Russell appointed as second permanent secretaries. 

Houses of Parliament

House of Commons 

  • Conor Burns – Conservative Party whip suspended on 7 October. 
  • Christina Rees – Administratively suspended by the Labour Party and whip suspended on 13 October. 
  • Foreign Affairs Committee – Alicia Kearns elected as chair. 
  • Science and Technology Committee – Greg Clark elected as chair. 
  • Committee of Selection – Jo Churchill and Craig Whittaker added; Kelly Tolhurst and Michael Tomlinson discharged. 
  • Committee on Standards – Sir Charles Walker added; Laura Farris discharged. 
  • Committee of Privileges – Sir Charles Walker added; Laura Farris discharged. 

House of Lords 

  • Lord Wallace of Tankerness was non-affiliated, now sits as Liberal Democrat. 
  • House of Lords Commission – Lord True added; Baroness Evans of Bowes Park discharged. 
  • Built Environment – Lord Moylan appointed as chair; Baroness Eaton added; Baroness Neville-Rolfe discharged. 
  • International Agreements – Lord Grimstone of Boscobel added. 
  • Selection – Lord True and Baroness Williams of Trafford added; Baroness Evans of Bowes Park and Lord Ashton of Hyde discharged. 

Political parties


  • Simon Lightwood MP appointed shadow minister for transport, with responsibility for buses and taxis. 
  • Ashley Dalton selected as candidate for the upcoming West Lancashire by-election. Current MP Rosie Cooper is still to officially resign as MP. 

Devolved administrations

Scottish Government 

  • Ayrshire College Board – Fiona McQueen CBE appointed as chair of the board for four years from 1 November until 31 October 2026. 
  • Scottish Charity Regulator – Marieke Dwarshuis appointed as chair for four years from 15 October. 

Welsh Government 

  • Christianne Glossop to stand down as Wales’s chief veterinary officer after 17 years in the role. 

Northern Ireland Executive 

  • Regulation and Quality Improvement Authority – Christine Collins appointed as chair until 30 September 2026. 
  • Victims and Survivors Service Board – Dame Sandra Horley and John Cahill appointed as Members for four years. 

Local authorities

Interested in an updated contact list of local government leaders? Get in contact with your Dods account manager or customer services for more details. 

  • Rossendale Borough Council – Neil Shaw to stand down as chief executive in January 2023. 
  • Scarborough Council – Nick Edwards appointed as chief executive from early November. 


If you and your organisation would like to be included in this section, then email us at  

Interest Groups 

  • BHT Sussex – David Chaffey appointed as chief executive. 
  • FareShare South West – Gene Joyner appointed a chief executive. 


  • Financial Conduct Authority – Chris Wilford appointed as head of public affairs, leaving the CBI this week where he has been director of financial services policy. 

Trade Associations 

  • CBI North West Regional Council – Martin Chown appointed as chair; he is chief executive of Sellafield. 

Read the most recent articles written by Dods People - Latest civil service & public affairs moves – January 30


Share this page
Read next