Regulatory Policy Committee appoints four new members

Matt Hancock announces that Jonathon Cave, Nicole Kar, Jeremy Mayhew and Alexander Ehmann will join the independent body

By Jacqueline Tenreiro

03 Mar 2015

Matt Hancock has unveiled two new appointments to the Regulatory Policy Committee​.

The Business Minister today announced that Dr Jonathon Cave, Nicole Kar, Jeremy Mayhew and Alexander Ehmann would begin work with the independent body - which scrutinises plans for government regulation - on March 16.

Cave and Kar will replace current committee members. Cave takes the place of Professor David Parker as an economist committee member, and Kar will replaces Dr Ian Peters. Mayhew and Ehmann have been re-appointed.

Announcing the appointments, Hancock said: “The appointees bring important expertise and experience and will play a vital role in supporting the government’s drive to reduce red tape. We are proud to be the first government in modern history to have reduced the burden of regulation – as measured by this independent committee.”

Cave has been Senior Teaching Fellow in Economics at the University of Warwick since 1994, also with over 30 years working for the RAND Corporation. Currently, he is a member of Defra’s Science Advisory Council Exotic Disease Subgroup.

Kar, a partner at Linklaters LLP, is currently Vice Chair of the competition committee of the City of London Solicitors’ Company, a trustee of the Mary Ward Settlement and a committee member of the Peace Brigades International’s Alliance for Lawyers at Risk.

Read the most recent articles written by Jacqueline Tenreiro - The great pretenders: The top 10 fictional civil servants


Share this page