Reshuffle: Four secretaries of state confirmed as Cameron begins to announce his Cabinet

Prime minister David Cameron has announced the re-appointment of Cabinet ministers George Osborne, Theresa May, Philip Hammond and Michael Fallon

By Sarah.Aston

08 May 2015

David Cameron has begun to announce the key ministerial posts in his new Cabinet following the Conservatives' election victory. 

This afternoon the prime minister tweeted that he had re-appointed George Osborne, Theresa May, Philip Hammond and Michael Fallon into their previous ministerial posts.

First to be announced was George Osborne, who will continue as chancellor. At 4:41pm, Cameron tweeted: "I have re-appointed George Osborne as chancellor of the exchequer," adding that Osborne will also be first secretary of state, making him the most senior secretary of state. 

At 4:55pm Cameron tweeted that Theresa May would remain home secretary, and at 5:05pm he announced that Philip Hammond will continue as foreign secretary. 

Last to be announced at 5:14pm was Michael Fallon, who will remain in the role of defence secretary. 

The prime minister is expected to announce the remaining Cabinet posts on Monday. 



Share this page