Latest civil service & public affairs moves — November 18

Written by Dods People on 18 November 2019 in News

New appointments in the civil service, UK politics, and public affairs, via our colleagues at Dods People

Sign up here to recieve Dods People Moves briefing in your email inbox every week

Government departments

  • Northern Ireland Office: Independent Commission for the Location of Victims’ Remains – Kenneth Bloomfield to stand down as UK Commissioner.
  • Home Office: Migration Advisory Committee - Alan Manning has been reappointed as chair.

Non-Ministerial Departments

  • Office of Gas and Electricity Markets: Jonathan Brearley to start as chief executive on 1 February.

Local Authorities

  • Allerdale Council: Ian Frost to stand down as chief executive.
  • Telford & Wrekin Council: David Sidaway to become chief executive on 8 January.
  • By-election Results: City of London Corporation - Helen Fentiman elected for Aldersgate - Labour hold (caused by the resignation of Labour Common Councilman Richard Crossen); Highland council – Emma Roddick elected for Inverness Central – Scottish National Party hold (caused by the resignation of Scottish National Party council Richard Laird); Fife council – Derek Glen elected for Dunfermline Centrel – Scottish National Party gain (caused by the resignation of Conservative councillor Alan Craig); Fife council – Sharon Green-Wilson elected for Rosyth – Scottish National Party hold (caused by the resignation of Scottish National Party councillor Sam Steele); Eden council – Neil McCall elected for Shap – Liberal Democrat gain (caused by the resignation of Conservative councillor John Owen); Neath Port Talbot council – Marcia Spooner elected for Rhos – Plaid Cymru gain (caused by the resignation of Labour councillor Alex Thomas); Powys council – Liz Rijnenberg elected for St Mary – Labour gain (caused by the resignation of Conservative councillor Sarah Lewis); Torbay council – Jane Barnby elected for Goodrington with Roselands – Conservative gain (caused by the resignation of Liberal Democrat councillor Rick Heyse); Tunbridge Wells council – Justine Rutland elected for Culverden – Liberal Democrat gain (caused by the death of Conservative councillor Ronen Basu).


If you and your organisation would like to be included in this section, then email us at

Interest Groups

  • Cancer Research UK: Philip Almond as executive director of fundraising and marketing, replacing Ed Aspel from December.
  • Comic Relief: Alex Reid to become chief executive in March.
  • British Heart Foundation: Charmaine Griffiths to replace Simon Gillespie as chief executive at the end of the year.

Trade Associations

  • Water UK: Christine McGourty to become chief executive.
  • Association of Short Term Lenders: Vic Jannels to replace Benson Hersch as chief executive in January.
Author Display Name
Dods People
Image description
Share this page
Editor's Pick
Promote as primary content
Not Promoted

Share this page

Further reading in our policy hubs


Please login to post a comment or register for a free account.

Contact the author

The contact details for the Civil Service World editorial team are available on our About Us page.

Related Articles

Related Sponsored Articles