Arrivals, moves & departures: latest appointments in the civil service, politics and public affairs – March 14

New appointments in the civil service, UK politics, and public affairs, via our colleagues on Dods People

Government departments

  • HM Treasury – Tom Scholar appointed Permanent Secretary.
  • Ministry of Defence – Department for Energy and Climate Change Permanent Secretary Stephen Lovegrove to replace Jon Thompson at the MoD.
  • Cabinet Office – Gareth Rhys Williams appointed Government Chief Commercial Officer; Dormant Assets Commission: Richard Collier-Keywood, Kirsty Cooper, Gurpreet Dehal, Rachel Hanger, Jackie Hunt, Mark Makepeace, Susan Sternglass Noble and Martin Turner appointed as Commissioners.
  • Department for Education – Ofqual: Crown Commercial Service chief executive Sally Collier named as government's preferred candidate to become Ofqual Chief regulator.
  • Department for Business, Innovation & Skills – Paul Newby has been appointed as Pubs Code Adjudicator.
  • Department for Communities and Local Government – Planning Inspectorate: Sarah Richards named Chief Executive.
  • Foreign and Commonwealth Office – Dominic Asquith has been appointed British High Commissioner to the Republic of India in succession to James Bevan.
  • Department for Culture, Media and Sport – British Library: Robert Black and Patrick Plant appointed as Board Members.
  • Prime Minister's Office – Nicholas Houghton to replace Lord Dannatt as Constable of the Tower of London.

Devolved Authorities

  • Northern Ireland Public Services Ombudsman – Marie Anderson named as the first Ombudsman in the new body.
  • VisitScotland – John Thurso named as Chair.

House of Lords

  • Lord Vincent of Coleshill (Crossbench, Life Peer) retired from the House of Lords on 9th March.
  • Lord Brooks of Tremorfa (Labour, Life Peer) died on 4th March.

House of Commons

  • Standards Select Committee – Kevin Barron has temporarily stood aside as Chair.
  • Communities and Local Government Committee – Jim McMahan appointed in place of Jo Cox as member.
  • Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Committee – Valerie Vaz appointed as member.
  • Petitions Committee - Catherine McKinnell appointed in place of Kate Osamor as member.


  • Responsible Finance – Jennifer Tankard to become Chief Executive
  • Heathrow Airport Holdings – Lord Deighton to succeed Nigel Rudd as Chair later this year.
  • Royal College of Radiologists - Nicola Strickland to replace Giles Maskell as President from September.
  • Institute of Advanced Motorists – Derek McMullan became the new Vice-Chair.
  • UK Council for Psychotherapy - Martin Pollecoff is the new Chair.
  • National Farmers' Union - Michael Oakes to succeed Rob Harrison as Chair of the National Dairy Board, and Tom Rawson to be Vice-Chair.

Read the most recent articles written by Dods People - Latest civil service & public affairs moves – May 28

Share this page