Arrivals, moves & departures: latest appointments in the civil service, politics and public affairs – November 2

New appointments this week in the civil service, UK politics, and public affairs, via our colleagues on Dods People

Government Departments
Youth Justice Board for England and Wales - Dr Tony Sewell appointed as member
Legal Services Board - Neil Buckley appointed as Chief Executive

House of Lords
Lord Noon (Labour, Life Peer) died on 27th October

House of Commons
Joint Committee on Human Rights - Fiona Bruce, Karen Buck, Harriet Harman, Jeremy Lefroy, Mark Pritchard and Amanda Solloway appointed as members.
Select Committee on Standards – Geoffrey Cox discharged; Tom Blenkinsop appointed as member
Select Committee on Privileges - Kevin Barron, Paul Beresford, Tom Blenkinsop, Christopher Chope, Dominic Grieve, Tommy Sheppard and Jo Stevens appointed as members
Armed Forces Bill Select Committee - Oliver Colvile, Judith Cummins, Byron Davies, Kate Hollern, Nusrat Ghani, Kevin Hollinrake, Kris Hopkins, John Howell, Mr Kevan Jones, Jack Lopresti, Kit Malthouse, Kirsten Oswald, Mr Gavin Shuker and Ruth Smeeth appointed as members
Communities and Local Government Committee - Angela Rayner discharged; Liz Kendall appointed as member
Culture, Media and Sport Committee - Steve Rotheram discharged; Julie Elliott appointed as member
Defence Committee - Conor McGinn discharged; Phil Wilson appointed as member
Energy and Climate Change Committee - Melanie Onn and Ian Lavery discharged; Rushanara Ali and Tom Blenkinsop appointed as members.
Environmental Audit Committee - Holly Lynch and Jeff Smith discharged; Mary Creagh and Geraint Davies appointed as members
Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Committee - Sarah Champion discharged; Angela Smith appointed as member
Health Committee - Rachael Maskell, Liz McInnes and Emily Thornberry discharged; Ben Bradshaw, Julie Cooper and Emma Reynolds appointed as members
Home Affairs Committee - Anna Turley and Keir Starmer discharged; Naz Shah and Chuka Umunna appointed as members
Justice Committee - Richard Burgon, Sue Hayman, Nick Thomas-Symonds and Christina Rees discharged; David Hanson, Rupa Huq, Andy McDonald and Marie Rimmer appointed as members.
Petitions Committee - Justin Madders discharged; Jim Dowd appointed as member
Committee of Public Accounts - Clive Lewis, Nick Smith and Teresa Pearce discharged; Chris Evans, Caroline Flint and Bridget Phillipson appointed as members.
Treasury Committee - Bill Esterson discharged; Rachel Reeves appointed as member
Women and Equalities Committee - Tulip Siddiq and Cat Smith discharged; Siobhain McDonagh and Gavin Shuker appointed as members
Work and Pensions Committee - Debbie Abrahams discharged; Steve McCabe appointed as member

Political parties
Labour Party – Stephen Doughty appointed shadow Foreign Office minister

Devolved Authorities
Northern Ireland assembly: Emma Pengelly appointed junior minister in the office of the first minister and the deputy first minister.
NI executive: Council for Nature Conservation and the Countryside - Howard Platt appointed as deputy chair

Local Authorities
Durham County Council: Terry Collins to be the new chief executive from January

Barclays – Jes Staley named as chief executive
Financial Times: Sebastian Payne to join as digital comment editor

Interest Groups
Citizens Advice: James Plunkett appointed as director of policy and advocacy
I CAN: Bob Reitemeier appointed as chief executive

Read the most recent articles written by Dods People - Latest civil service & public affairs moves – May 24 to July 12

Share this page