Latest civil service & public affairs moves – August 22

New appointments in the civil service, UK politics, and public affairs, via our colleagues at Dods People

UK Government

  • Cabinet Office – Senior Salaries Review Body – Pippa Lambert appointed as interim chair for 12 months until 27 July 2023.
  • Ministry of Defence Lieutenant general Sharon Nesmith appointed as deputy chief of the general staff. Submarine Delivery Agency – vice admiral Sir Chris Gardner KBE appointed as chief executive, replacing Ian Booth whose five-year appointment comes to an end on 3 September. UK Hydrographic Office – Marion Leslie appointed as non-executive chair after a year as interim non-executive chair and six years as non-executive director.
  • Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport: Museum of the Home – John Shakeshaft appointed as interim chair until 30 September 2022. Office of Communications – Will Harding appointed as member of the board for four years from 3 October until 2 October 2026. Reviewing Committee on the Export of Works of Art and Objects of Cultural Interest – Andrew Hochhauser QC appointed as chair for four years from 17 September. S4C – Suzy Davies appointed as member of the board for four years until 31 July 2026. UK Anti-Doping – Alison O’Riordan and George Walker appointed as board members for four years from 5 September until 4 September 2026. UK Sport – Rachel Baillache appointed as board member and chair of the Audit and Risk Committee from 1 September until 31 August 2026; Rupen Shah appointed as board member from 1 September until 31 August 2026.
  • Department for Education: Construction Industry Training Board – Louisa Finlay, Michael Green and Owain Jones appointed as board members until 25 July 2026. Education and Skills Funding Agency – David Withey appointed as chief executive.
  • Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office – Jon Dean appointed as Her Majesty's ambassador to the Republic of Chad from September, succeeding Mark Matthews who will be transferring to another diplomatic service appointment. Helen Lewis appointed as high commissioner to the Republic of Mozambique from October, succeeding Ms Nne Nne Iwuji-Eme.
  • Department of Health and Social Care Care Quality Commission – Stephen Marston’s appointment as a non-executive director has been extended for 12 months from 4 January 2023. Commission on Human Medicines – Julia Cons, Professor Paul Dargan, Professor David Dockrell, Professor David Hunt, Dr Gerri Mortimore, Dr Rui Providencia, Dr Vanessa Raymont and Professor Anthony Williams appointed as commissioners for four years; Professor David Moore appointed as Commissioner for four years from 15 December. Health Education England – Sir Andrew Morris appointed as non-executive director for 12 months; Professor Soraya Dhillon re-appointed as non-executive director for 12 months from 1 September; Professor John Latham re-appointed as non-executive director and Audit and Risk Committee chair for 12 months from 1 November. NHS England – Sir David Behan appointed as non-executive director from 1 September until 31 December 2023; Sir Andrew Morris’ term as non-executive director has been extended until 24 March 2025.
  • Home Office: Investigatory Powers Tribunal – Annabel Darlow QC, Stephen Shaw QC, Francesca Del Mese and Rupert Jones appointed as members from 15 August.
  • Department for International Trade: UK Export Finance – Julia Beck appointed as chief strategy and impact officer; Paul Neville appointed as digital, data and technology director.
  • Department for Levelling Up, Housing and Communities: Planning Inspectorate – Navees Rahman appointed as interim chief executive from the autumn, seconded from his current role as corporate services director.
  • Office of Gas and Electricity Markets – Christine Farnish stood down as non-executive director.
  • National Crime Agency – Graeme Biggar CBE appointed as director-general, having been interim director-general since October 2021
  • Supreme Court of the United Kingdom – Lord Lloyd-Jones re-appointed as justice; Sir David Richards appointed as justice, replacing Lady Arden who is retiring.

Houses of Parliament

House of Commons

  • Kate Griffiths MP is now known as Kate Kniveton MP. Jonathan Edwards announced on 13 August he will not re-join the Plaid Cymru Westminster group.

Devolved Administrations

Northern Ireland Executive

  • Construction Industry Training Board Northern Ireland – Noel Brady appointed as chair; Geraldine Gordon, Gerard Graham, Lynsey Graham, Ciara King, Duane McCreadie, Dorothy McKee, Noel McKee, Julie McKeown, Jonathan Payne, Aidan Sloane, Kevin Smyth and Shauna Young appointed as members of the board for three years.

Local Authorities

Interested in an updated contact list of local government leaders? Get in contact with your Dods Account Manager or Customer Services for more details.

  • North Lanarkshire Council – Agnes Magowan resigned as provost due to the illness of a close family member; deputy provost Anne Thomas will take over until a new provost is elected; Jim Logue (Labour) appointed as leader of the council following the resignation of SNP leader Jordan Linden.


If you and your organisation would like to be included in this section, then email us at

Interest Groups

  • Age Scotland – Brian Sloan is stepping down as chief executive of after 10 years in the role.
  • Cats Protection – John May appointed a chief executive from early November; he is currently the secretary-general of The Duke of Edinburgh’s International Award.
  • Mayhew – Sherine Wheeler appointed as chief executive from 30 August.
  • Royal College of Nursing – Tracey Budding re-elected as deputy president unopposed from 1 January 2023.


  • Daily ExpressSam Lister appointed as political editor, replacing Macer Hall who stepped down after 18 years at the newspaper.

Read the most recent articles written by Dods People - Latest civil service & public affairs moves – April 15


Share this page