Latest civil service & public affairs moves – July 18

New appointments in the civil service, UK politics, and public affairs, via our colleagues at Dods People

UK government

  • Prime Minister's Office – Jonathan Hellewell LVO appointed as the Prime Minister’s Appointments Secretary, following the retirement of Richard Tilbrook CVO at the end of June. Mr Tilbrook will continue part-time as llerk to the Privy Council and retain responsibility for the appointment of Lord- Lieutenants. Major General Patrick Marriott CB CBE appointed as Her Majesty's Lord-Lieutenant for Sutherland, succeeding Dr Monica Main CVO who is due to retire in August. The Very Reverend Dominic Barrington’s nomination for election as dean of York approved, succeeding The Right Reverend Dr Jonathan Frost following his appointment as bishop of Portsmouth.
  • Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy: Intellectual Property Office – Adam Williams appointed as interim chief executive from 1 September; current chief executive Tim Moss will be joining the Welsh Government as chief operating officer and director general.
  • Cabinet Office –  Fiona Ryland appointed as government chief people officer from the autumn. Mike Potter appointed as government chief digital officer from the autumn.
  • Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport: Royal Museums Greenwich – Professor Clare Anderson, Lance Batchelor, Sir Stephen Deuchar, Murdoch MacLennan, William Nye and Professor Andrew Thompson appointed as trustees for four years until 5 June 2026.
  • Department of Health and Social Care – Dr Henrietta Hughes OBE appointed as the first patient safety commissioner for England.
  • Home Office – Sir Mark Rowley appointed as commissioner of the Metropolitan Police Service. His start date will be confirmed in due course.
  • Ministry of Justice: Independent Monitoring Authority – Punam Birly reappointed as non-executive Member for three years from 8 December until 7 December 2025. Law Commission – Sir Nicholas Green's tenure as the chair extended from 1 August until a date three months from the announcement of the appointment of his successor. Office of the Public Guardian – Amy Holmes appointed as public guardian for England and Wales and chief executive of the Office of the Public Guardian. Privy Council Office – Shailesh Vara MP and Andrew Stephenson MP appointed as members of the Privy Council.
  • Department for Work and Pensions – Dominic Harris announced as preferred candidate for pensions ombudsman and Pensions Protection Fund ombudsman. The appointment is subject to a pre-appointment hearing by the Work and Pensions Select Committee on Wednesday 13 July.

Houses of Parliament

House of Commons

  • Environmental Audit Committee – Chris Skidmore added; Robert Goodwill discharged.
  • Science and Technology Committee – Carol Monaghan appointed as interim chair from 11-15 July; Aaron Bell appointed as interim chair from 18-22 July.
  • Committee of Selection – David Evennett and Kelly Tolhurst added; James Morris and Christopher Pincher discharged.
  • Speaker's Committee on the Electoral Commission – Greg Clark added; Karl McCartney discharged.

House of Lords

  • Katherine Willis raised to the peerage as Baroness Willis of Summertown, of Summertown in the City of Oxford on 8 July.
  • Lord Harrison (Labour, life peer) retired from the House of Lords on 11 July.
  • Lord Vinson (Conservative, life peer) retired from the House of Lords on 13 July.
  • Lord Leitch (Labour, life peer) granted a leave of absence on 14 July.

Political parties


  • 1922 Committee executive election: Aaron Bell, Miriam Cates, Jo Gideon, Richard Graham, Chris Green, Sally-Ann Hart, Andrew Jones and David Simmonds elected as members of the executive; Robert Halfon, Tom Randall, John Stevenson and Martin Vickers re-elected as members of the executive.

Liberal Democrats


  • Daisy Cooper continues as spokesperson for health and social care and deputy leader; previously spokesperson for health, wellbeing and social care.
  • Alistair Carmichael appointed as spokesperson for justice and continues as spokesperson for home affairs and Northern Ireland; previously spokesperson political and constitutional reform.
  • Wendy Chamberlain continues as chief whip and spokesperson for work and ensions; previously spokesperson for Scotland and Wales.
  • Tim Farron continues as spokesperson for environment, food and rural affairs; previously spokesperson for housing, communities and local government.
  • Richard Foord appointed as spokesperson for defence (after September's party conference).
  • Sarah Green appointed as spokesperson for international trade and Wales.
  • Wera Hobhouse appointed as spokesperson for transport and continues as spokesperson for energy and climate change and shadow leader of the House; previously spokesperson for Justice and eomen and equalities.
  • Christine Jardine appointed as appointed as spokesperson for the Cabinet Office, women and equalities and Scotland; previously spokesperson for Treasury.
  • Layla Moran continues as spokesperson for foreign affairs and international development.
  • Helen Morgan appointed as spokesperson for housing, communities and local government.
  • Sarah Olney appointed as spokesperson for Treasury and business and industrial strategy; previously spokesperson for business, trade and transport.
  • Jamie Stone continues as spokesperson for defence (until September's party conference) and digital, culture, media and sport.
  • Munira Wilson continues as spokesperson for education.

Devolved administrations

Scottish Government

  • Creative Scotland – Elizabeth Partyka and David Strachan reappointed as members for four years from 1 August until 31 July 2026.

Welsh Parliament

  • Health and Social Care Committee – Sarah Murphy added; Mike Hedges discharged.

Welsh Government

  • Welsh Ambulance Services NHS Trust – Colin Dennis appointed as chair from 1 October.
  • Welsh Industrial Development Advisory Board –Michael Macphail re-appointed as chair for three years until 30 June 2025.

Local authorities

Interested in an updated contact list of local government leaders? Get in contact with your Dods account manager or customer services for more details.

  • Nottinghamshire County Council – Adrian Smith selected as chief executive, subject to approval at a full council meeting on 22 September.


If you and your organisation would like to be included in this section, then email us at

Interest groups

  • Emergency Nutrition Network – Nigel Tricks appointed as chief executive from September.


  • Daily Mirror – John Stevens appointed as political editor, succeeding Pippa Crerar.

Trade unions

  • Trades Union Congress – Paul Nowak will become general secretary designate in September, before officially taking the post in January 2023.

From our colleagues at Dods Training:

  • New Government, New Opportunities? – 4 August 2022 (Online) To book your place click here

Read the most recent articles written by Dods People - Latest civil service & public affairs moves – April 15


Share this page