Latest civil service & public affairs moves – June 12

New appointments in the civil service, UK politics, and public affairs, via Dods People


UK government

  • Department for Business and Trade  – Conor Burns appointed as the prime minister’s trade envoy to the USA for regional trade and investment. Theo Clarke re-appointed as the prime minister’s trade envoy to Kenya.
  • Department for Culture, Media and Sport: BBC Board – Dame Elan Closs Stephens appointed as acting chair for twelve months from 27 June or until a new permanent chair has been appointed, whichever is sooner. Charity Commission for England and Wales – Rory Brooks , Shrenik Davda and Mark Simms appointed as board members for three years. Sports Grounds Safety Authority –Martin Esom, Alex Lacey, Bradley Pritchard and Jonathan Sellins appointed to the board for three years.
  • Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs: Independent Evidence Review of Protected Site Management on Dartmoor – David Fursdon appointed as chair.
  • Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office  – Dawn McKen appointed His Majesty’s ambassador to Montenegro from August, succeeding Karen Maddocks who will be transferring to another Diplomatic Service appointment. Liane Saunders appointed as His Majesty’s ambassador to the Sultanate of Oman, succeeding William Murray who has retired from the Diplomatic Service. Abda Sharif appointed as His Majesty’s ambassador to the Republic of Yemen from September, succeeding Richard Oppenheim who will be transferring to another Diplomatic Service appointment.
  • Department of Health and Social Care: Care Quality Commission – Christine Asbury, Mark Chakravarty, Professor David Croisdale-Appleby and Ali Hasan appointed as non-executive directors for three years from 1 June. Committee on Mutagenicity of Chemicals in Food, Consumer Products and the Environment – Dr George Johnson, Julia Kenny and Madeleine Wang re-appointed as members for three years from 1 June. Healthwatch England Committee – David Croisdale-Appleby appointed as chair for three years from 1 June.
  • Home Office: Technical Advisory Board – Keith James appointed as member for one year
  • Ministry of Justice: Civil Procedure Rule Committee – Elisabetta Sciallis appointed as lay member for three years from 1 June. Criminal Procedure Rule Committee – Paul Jarvis and Edmund Smyth re-appointed as non-judicial members for four years from 1 September. Legal Services Board – Clare Brown appointed as non-lay member for four years from 1 June; Kate Briscoe appointed as lay member for four years from 1 June; Lizzie Peers appointed as lay member for four years from 1 October.
  • Department for Levelling Up, Housing and Communities  Independent panel to carry out a review into Tees Valley Combined Authority’s oversight of the South Tees Development Corporation and Teesworks Joint Venture. Angie Ridgwell appointed as lead reviewer, supported by Quentin Baker and Richard Paver.
  • Northern Ireland Office  David Marshall appointed as chief electoral officer for Northern Ireland for five years from 7 August.
  • Department for Science, Innovation and Technology: Met Office – Catherine Bremner appointed as non-executive director to the board and chair of the Remuneration Committee.
  • Department for Transport: Network Rail – Lord Hendy of Richmond Hill re-appointed as chair for two years.
  • Non-Ministerial Departments: Government Legal Department – Caroline Croft appointed as director-general. Ofqual – Catherine McClellan re-appointed to the board for three years until 31 May 2026.

Political parties


  • Tulip Siddiq appointed shadow economic secretary; previously shadow financial secretary. James Murray appointed as shadow financial secretary; previously shadow economic Secretary.

Devolved administrations

Scottish Government

  • Kevin Stewart resigned as minister for transport on 6 June.

Welsh Government

  • Judith Paget has been appointed as director-general of health and social services and chief executive of NHS Wales on a permanent basis. She has held the post on an interim basis since November 2021.
  • Commission for Tertiary Education and Research – Simon Pirotte appointed as chief executive from September.
  • Independent Remuneration Panel for Wales – Dianne Bevan and Katherine Watkins appointed as members from 1 June until 31 March 2025.
  • Welsh Industrial Development Advisory Board – Sioned Edwards, Alun Jones, Professor Nigel Morgan, Ben Pritchard and Mark Rhydderch-Roberts re-appointed as members.

Transport for London

  • Andy Lord appointed as permanent transport commissioner; he has been interim commissioner since October 2022.

Transport for the North

  • Rail North Committee – Mayor Andy Burnham appointed as chair; Susan Hinchcliffe appointed as vice-chair.

Local authorities

Interested in an updated contact list of Local Government leaders – including new council leaders following the May 2023 elections. Get in contact with your Dods Account Manager or Customer Services for more details.

  • Hammersmith and Fulham Council – Sharon Lea appointed as permanent chief executive; she has been interim chief executive since February 2022.
  • Harrow Council – Alex Dewsnap appointed as managing director.
  • Norfolk County Council – Tom McCabe appointed as chief executive; he has been head of paid service and executive director of community and environmental services since 2015.
  • Oldham Council – Harry Catherall to retire as chief executive in December.


If you and your organisation would like to be included in this section, email Dods People at  

Interest groups

  • Air Ambulance Service – Peta Wilkinson appointed as chief executive.
  • Christian Aid – Lord Sentamu resigned as chair; Maggie Swinson appointed as interim chair.
  • Scottish Council of Independent Schools – Lorraine Davidson appointed as chief hxecutive; she is currently Head of education strategy at the Scottish Government.
  • London Transport Museum – Elizabeth McKay appointed as director and chief executive from August; she is currently the museum’s chief operating officer and deputy director.
  • Skipton Building Society Charitable Foundation – Alison Davies appointed as chair.
  • Solace Women’s Aid – Nahar Choudhury appoints as chief executive from 19 June.

PR agencies

  • Impact and Influence – Mark Hadley appointed as director; Matthew McGuinness appointed as brand director; Kate Harvey appointed as head of operations; Nicholas Moore appointed as account director.

Trade associations

  • CBI – Brian McBride to step down as president before end of his term; his successor is due to take over in the new year.

Need to contact civil servants and politicians? Find out more about Dods Political Intelligence.

Read the most recent articles written by Dods People - Latest civil service & public affairs moves – February 19


Share this page