Latest civil service & public affairs moves – May 9

New appointments in the civil service, UK politics, and public affairs, via our colleagues at Dods People

UK government

  • Prime Minister's Office – The Right Reverend Dr Noel Beasley approved for election as Bishop of Bath and Wells, in succession to The Right Reverend Peter Hancock following his retirement. The Venerable Dr Marlene Mallett approved for nomination to the Suffragan See of Croydon, succeeding The Right Reverend Jonathan Clark following his retirement.
  • Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy: Committee on Fuel Poverty – Liz Bisset, Belinda Littleton and Anthony Pygram appointed for three years from 3 May. Government Office for Tech Transfer – Dr Alison Campbell OBE appointed as chief executive. UK Space Agency – Lord Willetts appointed as chair of the board.
  • Ministry of Defence – Lieutenant General Sir James Hockenhull KBE appointed as commander United Kingdom Strategic Command and Aide-de-Camp General to Her Majesty, in the rank of General. Ministry of Defence Police – Melanie Dales appointed as deputy chief constable.
  • Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport: British Museum – Professor Chris Gosden re-appointed as the Society of Antiquaries trustee for four years from 2 August to 1 August 2026.
  • Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs: Climate Change Committee – Professor Ben Caldecott, Professor Nathalie Seddon and Professor Swenja Surminski appointed as expert members to the adaptation committee for three years from 1 May. Joint Nature Conservation Committee – Catherine Denholm and Tom Meagher appointed as board nembers for three years until 3 April 2025. Office for Environmental Protection – Natalie Prosser appointed as chief executive, she had been in the role on an interim basis since February 2021.
  • Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office – Dominic Williams MBE appointed as Her Majesty's ambassador to the Kingdom of Cambodia from August, succeeding Tina Redshaw. Fergus Auld OBE appointed as Her Majesty’s ambassador to the Republic of Azerbaijan from August, succeeding James Sharp.
  • Department of Health and Social Care: UK Health Security Agency – Jennifer Dixon, Jon Friedland, Graham Hart, Mark Lloyd, Gordon Messenger, Simon Blagden, Marie Gabriel and Raj Long appointed.
  • Department for International Trade – Greg Clark MP appointed as trade envoy to Japan. UK Export Finance – Tim Reid appointed as Business Group director.
  • Ministry of Justice: Children's and Family Court Advisory and Support Service – Peter Fish and Catharine Seddon appointed as board members for four years. Judicial Pension Board – Kim Brown and Josephine Maguire appointed as independent members for three years from 1 May to 30 April 2025.
  • Department for Transport – Stewart Jackson appointed as HS2 residents' commissioner.
  • HM Treasury: National Infrastructure Commission – Nicholas Winser CBE, Kate Willard OBE and Jim Hall appointed as commissioners from 1 May to April 2027. United Kingdom Debt Management Office – Dame Sue Owen appointed as the first non-executive chair of the advisory board for three years.
  • Competition and Markets Authority – Jessica Radke appointed as senior litigation director from 25 April.

Houses of Parliament

House of Commons

  • Imran Ahmad Khan appointed as steward and bailiff of the Three Hundreds of Chiltern on 3 May. A by-election for a new MP for Wakefield will take place in due course.
  • Neil Parish appointed as steward and bailiff of the Manor of Northstead on 4 May. A by-election for a new MP for Tiverton and Honiton will take place in due course. An election will also take place to appoint a new chair of the Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Committee.

House of Lords

  • Lord Young of Graffham (Conservative, life peer) retired on 27 April.
  • Lord Brabazon of Tara (Conservative, hereditary peer), Lord Moonie (Non-affiliated, life peer) and Lord Oxburgh (Crossbench, life peer) retired on 28 April. A hereditary peer by-election to replace Lord Brabazon of Tara will take place in due course.
  • Lord Clarke of Hampstead (Labour, life peer) has returned from a leave of absence.

All-party groups added to 4 May register

  • Belgium
  • Indonesia
  • Luxembourg
  • Portugal
  • South Africa
  • Communities of Inquiry across the Generations
  • Surrogacy
  • Sustainable Flood and Drought Management

Devolved administrations

Welsh Government

  • National Academy for Educational Leadership – Yusuf Ibrahim, Dr Deborah Nash and Katie Phillips appointed as board members for four years from 1 May; Dr Sue Davies re-appointed as chair of the board for four years from 1 May; Mike James, Paul Marshall, Dr Martin Price and John Graystone re-appointed as board members for three years from 1 May.
  • Welsh Revenue Authority – Kathryn Bishop’s term as chair will come to an end in October.

Northern Ireland Executive

  • Independent Monitoring Board – Andrew Bell, Chris Henderson, Mike Mawhinney, Norman McKinley, Lekan Ojo-okiji Abasi, Bryan Snoddy, Arlene Sproule and Marie Thompson appointed as members for three years; Yvonne Adair, Aubrey Domer, Karen Crawford, John Denvir, Ian Hackney, Pip Jaffa, Tom Logue, Margaret McCrory, Wesley Mitchell, Michael O’Hara and Tanya Quinn re-appointed as members for three years; Ann Adams, Diane Mackey, Anne Rowe, Lynn Nevin and Patsy McGonagle’s current term as members extended until 31 March 2023.

Combined authorities

  • Cambridgeshire and Peterborough Combined Authority – Eileen Milner has resigned as chief executive.


If you and your organisation would like to be included in this section, then email us at

Interest Groups

  • Christian Aid – Patrick Watt appointed as chief executive on a permanent basis, he was formerly interim chief executive.
  • Macmillan Cancer Support – Lynda Thomas to stand down as chief executive at the end of the year.
  • MS Society – Sam Walker appointed as executive director of services and support.
  • Sickle Cell Society – Michele Salter appointed as chair of Trustees.

Read the most recent articles written by Dods People - Latest civil service & public affairs moves – April 15


Share this page