Latest civil service & public affairs moves — April 26

New appointments in the civil service, UK politics, and public affairs, via our colleagues at Dods People

By Civil Service World

26 Apr 2021

Government departments

  • Johnny Mercer left his role as parliamentary under-secretary of state (minister for defence people and veterans), Ministry of Defence and Cabinet Office.
  • Leo Docherty appointed as parliamentary under-secretary of state (minister for defence people and veterans), Ministry of Defence and Cabinet Office (formerly assistant government whip).
  • David Duguid appointed as assistant government whip, remaining as parliamentary under-secretary of state, Scotland Office (formerly government whip).
  • Alan Mak appointed as government whip.
  • Home Office – Martin Levermore appointed as Windrush independent adviser. Roy Wilsher appointed as Independent expert adviser on fire and rescue service reform. Police Advisory Board for England and Wales – Julia Mulligan named as chair.
  • Department for Health and Social Care – Lucy Chappell appointed as chief scientific adviser, replacing Chris Whitty from August. Whitty will remain as chief medical officer. NHS England and NHS Improvement – James Lyons to replace Simon Enright as director of communications.
  • Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport – Claudia Arney appointed as lead non-executive board member, Priya Lakhani appointed as a non-executive board member. National Portrait Gallery – Rachel Wang, Peter Stothard and Bjorn Saven reappointed as trustees.
  • Department for Transport: HS2 Ltd – John Thompson appointed as non-executive director. HM Maritime and Coastguard Agency – Christopher Ridrigues appointed as non-executive chair.
  • Ministry of Justice: Tribunal Procedure Committee – Gabriella Bettiga reappointed as a member.
  • Cabinet Office – Peter Riddell to remain as commissioner for public appointments until 30 September.
  • Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy: Met Office – Rob Woodward reappointed as chair and Anusha Shah, Christine Ourmières-Widener and Jordan Giddings appointed to the Met Office board.
  • HM Treasury: Royal Mint Advisory Committee – Baroness Stuart appointed as chair, replacing Lord Waldegrave of North Hill.
  • Competition and Markets Authority – Andrea Gomes da Silva, executive director for markets and mergers to stand down at the end of May. Margot Daly and Richard Feasey appointed as inquiry chairs.

Devolved authorities

  • Northern Ireland Government: Labour Relations Agency – Marie Mallon reappointed as chair, Jill Minne, Daire Murphy, Deirdre Fitzpatrick, Louise Crilly and Michelle McGinley reappointed as board members.

Houses of Parliament

House of Lords

  • Lord McFall elected as Lord speaker, replacing Lord Fowler on 1st May.
  • Lord Judd (Labour, life peer) died on 17th April 2021.

House of Commons

  • Petitions Committee – Taiwo Owatemi appointed as a member.
  • Public Accounts Committee – Dan Carden replaced Shabana Mahmood as a member.
  • Treasury Committee – Emma Hardy appointed as a member.


If you and your organisation would like to be included in this section, then email us at


  • Academies Enterprise Trust - Rebecca Boomer-Clark to replace Julian Drinkall as chief executive in the summer.

Interest groups

  • Learning and Work Institute - Sam Windett named as deputy director.


  • Interel - Katherine Morgan promoted to become managing partner, replacing George McGregor. Will Wallace became deputy managing partner.


Read the most recent articles written by Civil Service World - 'What keeps you awake at night?': A guide to the government risk management profession


Share this page
Read next