Latest civil service & public affairs moves — February 1

New appointments in the civil service, UK politics, and public affairs, via our colleagues at Dods People

By Civil Service World

01 Feb 2021

Government departments

  • Scott Mann appointed as a government whip.
  • Cabinet Office – Lord Frost appointed as representative for Brexit and international policy. Stephen Lovegrove appointed as national security adviser.
  • Office for Veterans’ Affairs – Jessie Owen to become director in March.
  • Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs: Joint Nature Conservation Committee – Colin Calbraith appointed as chair. Office for Environmental Protection – Natalie Prosser named as interim chief executive for the new body.
  • Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government: Regulator of Social Housing – Kate Dodsworth appointed as director of consumer regulation, starting in the summer.
  • Ebbsfleet Development Corporation – Simon Dudley appointed as chair.
  • Homes England – Nick Walkley to stand down as chief executive in February.
  • Department for Health and Social Care: Professional Standards Authority – Caroline Corby announced as chair.
  • Northern Ireland Office – Sinead Burns reappointed as civil service commissioner for Northern Ireland.
  • Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport – Elizabeth Denham extended her role as the UK’s information commissioner until October.
  • Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office – Susannah Goshko has been appointed British high commissioner to Canada. George Hollingbery has been appointed as Her Majesty’s ambassador to the Republic of Cuba in succession to Antony Stokes.
  • Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy – Ann Cairns appointed as Lead Non-executive board member.

Houses of Parliament

House of Lords

  • House of Lords Commission – Lord German, Lord Hill of Oareford, Lord Touhig and Lord Vaux of Harrowden appointed members in place of Baroness Doocey, Lord Wakeham, Baroness McIntosh of Hudnall and Lord Laming.
  • Communications and Digital Committee  Baroness Featherstone, Lord Giddens, Lord Griffiths of Burry Port and Lord Stevenson of Balmacara appointed members in place of Lord Storey, Baroness Quin, Lord Allen of Kensington and Baroness McIntosh of Hudnall.
  • Constitution Committee  Baroness Doocey, Lord Hope of Craighead and Baroness Suttie appointed members in place of Lord Beith and Lord Pannick.
  • Delegated Powers and Regulatory Reform Committee  Lord Hendy and Lord Janvrin appointed members in place of Lord Haskel and Lord Thurlow.
  • Economic Affairs Committee  Lord Bridges of Headley, Lord Haskel, Lord King of Lothbury and Baroness Kramer appointed members in place of Lord Tugendhat, Lord Cunningham of Felling, Lord Burns and Baroness Bowles of Berkhamsted.
  • Finance Committee  Lord Campbell-Savours, Lord Davies of Brixton, Lord Lee of Trafford, Lord Levene of Portsoken and Lord Vaux of Harrowden appointed members in place of Lord Cunningham of Felling, Baroness Goudie, Baroness Doocey, Lord Cromwell and Lord Kerslake; Lord Vaux of Harrowden appointed Chair.
  • Human Rights Committee Lord Henley appointed a member in place of Lord Trimble.
  • International Relations and Defence Committee  Lord Anderson of Swansea, Lord Boateng, Lord Campbell of Pittenweem, Lord Stirrup, Baroness Sugg and Lord Teverson appointed members in place of Lord Reid of Cardowan, Lord Grocott, Lord Purvis of Tweed, Lord Hannay of Chiswick, Baroness Helic and Baroness Smith of Newnham.
  • Liaison Committee  Baroness Campbell of Surbiton appointed a member in place of Lord Low of Dalston.
  • National Plan for Sport and Recreation Committee  Earl of Devon appointed a member in place of Lord Krebs.
  • National Security Strategy Committee – Lord Laming, Lord Reid of Cardowan and Lord Strasburger appointed members in place of Lord Powell of Bayswater, Lord Harris of Haringey and Lord Campbell of Pittenweem.
  • Procedure and Privileges Committee  Lord Faulkner of Worcester and Baroness McIntosh of Hudnall appointed members in place of Lord Morris of Aberavon and Baroness Warwick of Undercliffe.
  • Science and Technology Committee – Viscount Hanworth, Lord Krebs, Lord Mitchell, Lord Sarfraz, Baroness Warwick of Undercliffe and Lord Winston appointed members in place of Lord Browne of Ladyton, Lord Mair, Baroness Hilton of Eggardon, Lord Borwick, Baroness Young of Old Scone and Lord Hollick.
  • Selection Committtee  Baroness Coussins and Lord Smith of Hindhead appointed members in place of Lord Craig of Radley and Viscount Ullswater.
  • Services Committee  Lord Clark of Windermere and Baroness Deech appointed members in place of Lord Campbell-Savours and Lord Laming; Lord Touhig appointed Chair
  • Statutory Instruments Committee  Baroness D’Souza and Lord Smith of Hindhead appointed members in place of Lord Stirrup and Lord Colgrain.
  • Youth Unemployment Committee – Lord Baker of Dorking, Baroness Clark of Kilwinning, Lord Clarke of Nottingham, Lord Davies of Oldham, Bishop of Derby, Lord Empey, Lord Hall of Birkenhead, Lord Layard, Baroness Mcintosh of Hudnall, Baroness Newlove, Lord Storey and Lord Woolley of Woodford appointed members. Lord Shipley appointed Chair.

Political parties

Liberal Democrats

  • Wera Hobhouse named as spokesperson for climate emergency and energy, replacing Sarah Olney. Hobhouse continues as spokesperson for justice and Women and equalities and shadow leader of the House.

Welsh Conservatives

  • Paul Davies stood down as leader.
  • Andrew RT Davies named as leader.
  • Angela Burns appointed as shadow minister for health and social services.
  • Mark Isherwood appointed as shadow minister for finance, north Wales and chief whip.
  • Russell George appointed as shadow minister for economy, transport and mid Wales.
  • Janet Finch-Saunders appointed as shadow minister for environment, energy and rural affairs.
  • David Melding appointed as shadow minister for mental health, wellbeing, culture and sport.
  • Suzy Davies appointed as shadow minister for education, skills and the Welsh language.
  • Laura Anne Jones appointed as shadow minister for housing and local government, equalities, children and young people.

Devolved authorities

Welsh Parliament

Business Committee – Mark Isherwood replaced Darren Millar as member.

Equality, Local Government and Communities Committee – Laura Anne Jones replaced Mark Isherwood as member.

External Affairs and Additional Legislation Committee – Nick Ramsay replaced Laura Anne Jones as member.

Finance Committee  Mark Isherwood replaced Nick Ramsay as member.

Health, Social Care and Sport Committee – Angela Burns replaced Andrew RT Davies as member.

Public Accounts Committee  Darren Millar replaced Angela Burns as member.

Local authorities

  • Sedgemoor District Council – Bob Brown to become chief executive in April.


If you and your organisation would like to included in this section, then email us at

Interest groups

Refugee Action – Stephen Hale to stand down as chief executive.

NCVO – Karl Wilding to stand down as chief executive.


PLMR – Elin de Zoete to stand down as chief executive.

Read the most recent articles written by Civil Service World - 'What keeps you awake at night?': A guide to the government risk management profession


Share this page
Read next