Latest civil service & public affairs moves — January 18

New appointments in the civil service, UK politics, and public affairs, via our colleagues at Dods People

By Civil Service World

18 Jan 2021

Government departments

  • Prime Minister’s Office: UK Delegation to the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe – John Howell MP appointed as Leader, Martin Vickers MP replaced Roger Gale MP as a member, and Cherilyn Mackrory MP appointed as a substitute member.
  • Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office: Tim Stew has been appointed Her Majesty’s Ambassador to the Republic of Panama. Wilton Park – Tom Cargill appointed as Chief Executive.
  • Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport: Arts Council England – Nicholas Serota reappointed as Chair.
  • Home Office: Security Industry Authority – David Horncastle appointed as Chair on an interim basis. College of Policing – Lord Herbert of South Downs became Chair, replacing Christine Elliott who was in the role on an interim basis.
  • Department for Work and Pensions: BPDTS Ltd – Mal Singh to stand down as Chief Finance Officer on 31st March.
  • Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy: Kwasi Kwarteng MP appointed as Secretary of State for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy (formerly Minister of State for Business, Energy and Clean Growth), replacing Alok Sharma MP. UK Space Agency  Graham Turnock to stand down as Chief Executive this year.
  • Northern Ireland Office – Rosalie Flanagan appointed as the new Commissioner for The Independent Commission for the Location of Victims Remains.
  • Cabinet Office: Alok Sharma MP became President of the UN COP26 Climate Conference full-time, continuing as part of the Cabinet. Central Digital and Data Office  Paul Willmott to become Chair of the new team, Joanna Davinson to become Executive Director.
  • Government Digital Service – Tom Read to become Chief Executive.

Houses of Parliament

House of Commons

  • Northern Ireland Affairs Committee – Fay Jones replaced Caroline Ansell as a member.
  • Procedure Committee – William Wragg replaced Andrew Griffith as a member.

Political parties

Scottish Labour

  • Richard Leonard resigned as Leader, Jackie Baillie to take the role on an interim basis.

Reform UK Scotland

Michelle Ballantyne named as Leader

Devolved authorities

Scottish Parliament

  • Michelle Ballantyne joined Reform UK, having been sitting as an independent.

Local authorities

  • Flintshire Council – Colin Everett to retire as Chief Executive later in the year.
  • Hackney Council – Tim Shields to retire as Chief Executive at the end of May.
  • Central Bedfordshire Council – Richard Wenham elected as Leader, replacing James Jamieson.
  • Hillingdon Council – Ian Edwards elected as Leader, replacing Ray Puddifoot.


If you and your organisation would like to be included in this section, then email us at

Trade associations

  • ScotlandIS – Karen Meechan to become Interim Chief Executive replacing Jane Morrison-Ross in February.

Interest Groups

  • Women’s Aid – Farah Nazeer to become Chief Executive on 1st March.
  • The Co-op Foundation – Nick Crofts appointed as Chief Executive.
  • Comic Relief – Samir Patel named as Chief Executive.
  • Hft – Kirsty Matthews appointed as Chief Executive, replacing Steve White who had been in the role on an interim basis.


  • House Magazine – Rosa Prince to become editor in February.

Trade unions

  • Unison – Christina McAnea elected as the General Secretary.

Read the most recent articles written by Civil Service World - 'What keeps you awake at night?': A guide to the government risk management profession


Share this page
Read next