Latest civil service & public affairs moves — March 1

New appointments in the civil service, UK politics, and public affairs, via our colleagues at Dods People

By Civil Service World

01 Mar 2021

Government departments

  • HM Treasury: Financial Conduct Authority  Stephanie Cohen appointed as chief operating officer, Jessica Rusu as the first chief data, information and intelligence officer, Sarah Pritchard as executive director, markets, Emily Shepperd as executive director, authorisations and Clare Cole as director, market oversight.
  • Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport: National Heritage Memorial Fund and The National Lottery Heritage Fund – Simon Thurley to replace René Olivieri as chair from 1st April. Charity Commission – Ian Karet appointed as chair on an interim basis and Kenneth Dibble reappointed as a board member.
  • Department for Work and Pensions – Valerie Hughes-D’Aeth and David Bennett appointed as non-executive board members. BPDTS Ltd – Andrew Garton to become chief financial officer on 1st April.
  • Home Office – Gillian Tully appointed as interim forensic science regulator.
  • Department of Health and Social Care: Medicines and Healthcare Products Regulatory Agency  June Raine appointed as chief executive, having been in the role on an interim basis.
  • Human Fertilisation and Embryology Authority  Tim Child, Jason Kasraie, Catharine Seddon and Alison Marsden appointed as members.
  • Department for International Trade – Jonathan Knott appointed as HM Trade Commissioner for Latin America and the Caribbean

Houses of Parliament

House of Lords

  • Lord Fowler to stand down as Lord speaker in April.
  • Communications and Digital Committee – Lord Lipsey replaced Lord Giddens as a member.
  • Lord Green of Hurstpierpoint was non-affiliated, now crossbench.
  • Susan Black and Amyas Morse to become crossbench peers.
  • Lord Coaker (Labour, life peer) was introduced to the House.

House of Commons

  • Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy Committee – Sarah Owen replaced Zarah Sultana as a member.
  • Environmental Audit Committee – Dan Carden and Helen Hayes replaced Feryal Clark and Alex Sobel as members.
  • Housing, Communities and Local Government Committee – Florence Eshalomi and Andrew Lewer replaced Abena Oppong-Asare and Paul Holmes as members.
  • Justice Committee – Janet Daby replaced Richard Burgon as a member.
  • Public Administration and Constitutional Affairs Committee – John McDonnell replaced Navendu Mishra as a member.
  • Science and Technology Committee  Rebecca Long Bailey replaced Darren Jones as a member.
  • Transport Committee – Ben Bradshaw replaced Sam Tarry as a member.
  • Select Committee on the Armed Forces Bill  Stuart Anderson, Tonia Antoniazzi, Dan Carden, Leo Docherty, Martin Docherty-Hughes, Darren Henry, Sharon Hodgson, Richard Holden, Mr Kevan Jones, Jack Lopresti, Johnny Mercer, Carol Monaghan, Stephen Morgan, Andrew Murrison, James Sunderland and Heather Wheeler named as members of the new committee.

Political parties

Labour Party

  • Alex Davies-Jones (formerly PPS to Jim McMahon, shadow secretary of state for transport, and Nia Griffith, shadow Wales Sscretary) replaced Karin Smyth as shadow minister for Northern Ireland.

Devolved authorities

Northern Ireland Government 

  • Mark Browne to become permanent secretary for the Department of Education on 1st March.
  • Sport NI – Adrian Doherty appointed as Chief Operating Officer and Michael Boyd as director of sport.
  • Council for the Curriculum, Examinations and Assessment – Tommy O’Reilly appointed as chair, replacing Trevor Carson.

Northern Ireland Parliament

  • Procedures Committee – Paula Bradley replaced Gary Middleton as a member.

Welsh Government

  • Nerys Llewelyn Jones named as interim environmental protection assessor, Wales from 1st March.

Scottish Government

  • Scottish Fiscal Commission – Alasdair Smith reappointed.


If you and your organisation would like to be included in this section, then email us at

Interest groups

  • MS Society – Clare Horwood appointed as executive director of engagement and income generation.
  • Refuge – Ruth Davison to become chief executive in April.
  • National Deaf Children’s Society – Steve Haynes named as director of public affairs.

Read the most recent articles written by Civil Service World - 'What keeps you awake at night?': A guide to the government risk management profession


Share this page
Read next