Latest civil service & public affairs moves — September 7

New appointments in the civil service, UK politics, and public affairs, via our colleagues at Dods People

By Dods People

07 Sep 2020

Government departments

  • Simon Case appointed as cabinet secretary and head of the civil service, replacing Mark Sedwill on 9th September.
  • Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office: James Cleverly appointed as Minister of State (Minister for Middle East and North Africa);  Lord Goldsmith appointed as Minister of State (Minister for Pacific and the Environment); Nigel Adams appointed as Minister of State (Minister for Asia); Lord Ahmad of Wimbledon appointed as Minister of State (Minister for South Asia and the Commonwealth); James Duddridge appointed as Parliamentary Under Secretary of State (Minister for Africa); Wendy Morton appointed as Parliamentary Under Secretary of State (Minister for European Neighbourhood and the Americas); Baroness Sugg appointed as Parliamentary Under Secretary of State (Minister for the Overseas Territories and Sustainable Development).
  • Ministry of Justice: Independent Monitoring Boards – Anne Owens to remain as national xhair.
  • Ministry of Housing, Communities & Local Government: UK Holocaust Memorial Foundation - Jon Cunliffe, Mona Siddiqui and Matthew Westerman have been appointed to the board.
  • Northern Ireland Office: Northern Ireland Human Rights Commission - Helen Henderson, Jonathan Kearney, David Lavery, Maura Muldoon, Eddie Rooney and Stephen White appointed as past-time commissioners.

Non-Ministerial Departments

  • HMRC: Daljit Rehal has been appointed as Chief Digital and Information Officer from 14th September.

Devolved Authorities

  • Welsh Parliament: Caroline Jones left the Brexit Party and now sits as Independent.
  • Scottish Parliament: Education and Skills Committee - Kenneth Gibson appointed to replace Gail Ross as a member; Equalities and Human Rights Committee - Gillian Martin appointed to replace Angela Constance as a member; Justice Committee - Annabelle Ewing appointed to replace Alasdair Allan as a member;  Local Government and Communities Committee - Keith Brown appointed to replace Kenneth Gibson and Gail Ross appointed to replace Annabelle Ewing as members.

Local Authorities

  • Cambridge City Council: Andrew Grant to become interim chief executive from 1st October, replacing Antoinette Jackson.
  • South Holland District Council: Anna Graves to stand down as chief executive in the autumn.
  • Pembrokeshire Council: Ian Westley to stand down as chief executive by the end of November.
  • Shropshire Council: Andy Begley to become chief executive.
  • Northumberland County Council: Peter Jackson removed as leader with Glen Sanderson replacing him temporarily.


If you and your organisation would like to be included in this section, then email us at

Interest Groups

  • National Emergencies Trust: Mhairi Sharp to become interim chief executive, replacing John Herriman.
  • British Dyslexia Association: Nick Posford to become chief executive.
  • Alzheimer's Research UK: Susan Kohlhaas appointed as director of research.
  • Trade Associations
  • BMA: Greg Beales appointed as communications and policy director.

Read the most recent articles written by Dods People - Latest civil service & public affairs moves — June 1


Share this page
Read next