Latest civil service & public affairs moves – January 10

New appointments in the civil service, UK politics, and public affairs, via our colleagues at Dods People

By Dods People

10 Jan 2022

Government departments

  • Prime Minister's Office – Political Honours – Caroline Dinenage (DBE) and Robert Buckland (KBE)
  • Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy – Civil Nuclear Police Authority – Vic Emery OBE, chairman, passed away on 18 December. Financial Reporting Council – Jan Du Plessis announced as the government’s preferred candidate to be chair. The Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy Select Committee has been invited to hold a pre-appointment scrutiny hearing and to report on Mr Du Plessis's suitability for the post. Nuclear Decommissioning Authority – Adrienne Kelbie appointed as the inaugural chair of Nuclear Waste Services from 1 January
  • Cabinet Office – Lord Frost resigned as minister of state, with responsibility for the Northern Ireland Protocol negotiations, on 18 December. New Year Honours 2022 – Lord Field of Birkenhead (CH), Lord Kakkar (KBE), Lord McAvoy (KBE0, Robert Goodwill (knighted) and Bill Wiggin (knighted)
  • Ministry of Defence – Single Source Regulations Office – Hannah Nixon appointed chair from 3 January.
  • Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport  John Edwards appointed as information commissioner for five years from 3 January. BBC – Muriel Gray appointed to the board as Scotland nation member from 3 January to 2 January 2026. Charity Commission – Ian Karet's term as interim chair extended from 27 December 2021 to 26 June 2022, whilst the appointment process for a permanent chair is conducted. Royal Armouries – Barbara Woroncow appointed as trustee from 1 January to 31 December 2025. Wallace Collection – James Barnard, Sophie Birshan and Alison Taylor appointed as trustees for four years until 30 November 2025.
  • Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs – Environment Agency – Sarah Mukherjee and Mark Suthern appointed as non-executive directors to the board from 10 January to 9 January 2026. Natural England – Tony Juniper reappointed as chair for a second term from 23 April to 22 April 2025.
  • Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office – Elizabeth Truss appointed as lead negotiator with the EU on the Northern Ireland Protocol and the UK’s co-chair of the Partnership Council and the Joint Committee. Chris Heaton-Harris appointed as minister of state for Europe. Sarah Atherton resigned as parliamentary private secretary.
  • Government Equalities Office  Equality and Human Rights Commission – Akua Reindorf appointed as a commissioner and board member.
  • Department of Health and Social Care – NHS Business Services Authority – Silla Maizey’s re-appointment as chair extended from 1 January to 31 March. Human Fertilisation and Embryology Authority – Margaret Gilmore’s and Ruth Wilde’s re-appointment as non-executive Members extended for three months from 1 January; Anne Lampe’s re-appointment as non-executive member extended for three months from 1 February.
  • Home Office  Disclosure and Barring Service – Dr Gillian Fairfield re-appointed chair for three years.
  • Department for Transport – Wendy Morton appointed as parliamentary under-secretary of state (responsibilities to be confirmed).
  • HM Treasury – Gwyneth Nurse appointed as director-general of financial services, replacing Katharine Braddick.
  • Non-Ministerial Departments  Competition and Markets Authority – Geert Goeteyn appointed as Senior Legal Director from January.

Houses of Parliament

House of Commons

  • The Southend West by-election will take place on 3 February.

Select committees

  • Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy  – Tonia Antoniazzi and Andy McDonald added; Judith Cummins and Sarah Owen discharged.
  • Defence – Dave Doogan added; Martin Docherty-Hughes discharged.
  • Environmental Audit Select Committee – Valerie Vaz added; Dan Carden discharged.
  • Environment, Food and Rural Affairs – Kirsty Blackman added; Dave Doogan discharged.
  • Foreign Affairs – Liam Byrne added; Claudia Webbe discharged.
  • Health and Social Care – Martyn Day added; Anum Qaisar discharged.
  • Justice – Diane Abbott added; Janet Daby discharged.
  • Procedure – Patrick Grady added; Kirsty Blackman discharged.
  • Transport  Navendu Mishra added; Lilian Greenwood discharged.
  • Women and Equalities – Anum Qaisar added; Anne McLaughlin discharged.

House of Lords

  • Bishop of Lincoln (non-affiliated) retired from the Lords on 31 December 2021.
  • Baroness Amos appointed lady companion of the most nobel order of the garter.

Devolved administrations

Northern Ireland Executive

  • Department for the Economy – Michael McKavanagh appointed as non-executive board member to the departmental board and will attend the department's Audit and Risk Assurance Committee from 4 January.
  • Department for Infrastructure – Moya Johnston MBE appointed as non-executive board member to the departmental board and chair to the department's Audit and Risk Assurance Committee from 4 January; Frank Kirkland appointed as non-executive board member to the departmental board and chair to the Major Projects Committee from 4 January; Enda McKeever appointed to the Driver Vehicle Agency Board and chair to the DVA Audit and Risk Assurance Committee from 4 January. Business Services Organisation – Sean McKeever re-appointed as non-executive lay member until 12 November 2025.
  • Northern Ireland Blood Transfusion Service – Ian Henderson re-appointed as non-executive lay member until 20 February; Lorraine Lindsay re-appointed as non-executive lay member until 6 February; Philip Cathcart re-appointed as non-executive finance member until 4 February.
  • Northern Ireland Practice & Education Council for Nursing and Midwifery – Bronagh Scott appointed as non-executive chair from 6 December 2021 to 5 December 2025.
  • Stramillis University College – Edgar Jardine appointed as chair to the governing body.

Local authorities

  • Dumfries and Galloway Council – Gavin Stevenson has retired as chief executive after 12 years. Derek Crichton, Communities Director, appointed to the role in the interim.
  • Cambridgeshire County Council – Amanda Askham appointed as acting chief executive for the seven weeks between Gillian Beasley’s retirement and her successor Stephen Moir joining the council on 22 February.
  • Colchester Borough Council – Pamela Donnelly appointed as chief executive from 1 April.
  • Isle of Anglesey County Council – Dylan Williams appointed as chief executive, succeeding Annwen Morgan who will retire in March.
  • Harborough District Council – Norman Proudfoot will stand down as chief executive in February.
  • North Norfolk District Council – Sarah Butikofer (Lib Dem) to stand down as council leader.
  • Stockport Council – Caroline Simpson appointed as chief executive.


If you and your organisation would like to be included in this section, then email us at

Interest Groups

  • Beaver Trust – Sandra King appointed as chief executive.
  • The Clink Charity – Yvonne Thomas appointed as chief executive.
  • Crisis – Matt Downie MBE appointed as chief executive.


  • BBC – Laura Kuenssberg to stand down as political editor after seven years in the job, she will remain in the post until Easter; Deborah Turness appointed as chief executive, BBC News and current affairs.


Read the most recent articles written by Dods People - Latest civil service & public affairs moves – January 17


Share this page
Read next